1. Home
  2. »
  3. Vuelta a Espana
  4. »
  5. 2017 Vuelta a España, stage 21

2017 Vuelta a España

STAGE 21: Arroyomolinos to Madrid

As is normally the case, the last day will serve to crown and receive the Vuelta winner in the Spanish capital. The three weeks of hard work, sacrifice and suffering will be rewarded with a stage that will take the peloton through the heart of Madrid in order to bring the 72nd edition of the Vuelta to a close.

La Vuelta: Trentin wins final stage, Froome takes overall

Matteo Trentin (Quick-Step Floors) won the final stage of the 2017 Vuelta a España in Madrid. Photo: Tim De Waele | TDWsport.com

MADRID (AFP) – Chris Froome (Team Sky) became just the third rider in history to win the Vuelta a Espana and Tour de France in the same year as Matteo Trentin (Quick-Step Floors) won the 21st stage of the 2017 Vuelta a España through the centre of Madrid on Sunday.

Froome beat four-time grand tour winner Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) by 2:15, with Russia’s Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin) completing the podium.

“Thank you so much to everyone who’s been a part of this journey,” Froome said to the crowds gathered around the Cibeles fountain in the heart of Madrid. “It’s been a whirlwind past three months and so many people have contributed.”

Top 10, stage 21

1. Matteo Trentin (Quick-Step Floors), in 03:06:25.
2. Lorrenzo Manzin (FDJ), at +00:00.
3. Søren Andersen (Team Sunweb), at +00:00.
4. Tom Van Asbroeck (Cannondale-Drapac), at +00:00.
5. Iván García (Bahrain-Merida), at +00:00.
6. Magnus Nielsen (Orica-Scott), at +00:00.
7. Kenneth Vanbilsen (Cofidis), at +00:00.
8. Sacha Modolo (UAE Emirates), at +00:00.
9. Michael Schwarzmann (Bora-Hansgrohe), at +00:00.
10. Daniel Hoelgård (FDJ), at +00:00.

Top-10 final GC

1. Christopher Froome (Team Sky), in 82:30:02.
2. Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) at +02:15.
3. Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha-Alpecin), at +02:51.
4. Wilco Kelderman (Team Sunweb), at +03:15.
5. Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo), at +03:18.
6. Wouter Poels (Team Sky), at +06:59.
7. Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac), at +08:27.
8. Miguel Ángel López (Astana), at +09:13.
9. Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo), at +11:18.
10. Tejay Van Garderen (BMC Racing), at +15:50.

The Briton joins Frenchmen Jacques Anquetil (1963) and Bernard Hinault (1978) as the only riders to win the Tour and Vuelta in the same year. However, Froome is the first man to win both races since the Vuelta was moved to after the Tour in the racing calendar in 1995.

Froome, a four-time winner of the Tour de France, had previously finished runner-up at the Vuelta on three occasions in 2011, 2014 and 2016. The Sky rider led the race all the way from stage three to Madrid thanks to
wins on stage nine and the individual time trial on stage 16.

Trentin claimed his fourth stage win of the race on the sprint to the finish line after a 117.6km (73mi) ride from Arroyomolinos to Madrid, ending in a nine-lap circuit through the centre of the Spanish capital. His victory was Quick-Step Floors’ sixth of the race with Yves Lampaert and Julian Alaphilippe also successful.

“I came here to try and win stages, but knowing the parcours didn’t allow too many sprints or easy finishes,” said Trentin. “Thanks to the team in three stages of my four we controlled the bunch from the beginning. We also won two more stages, so I think we pretty much dominated this Vuelta in stage wins.”

However, the Italian was denied the green jersey as winner of the points competition by an insatiable Froome, who sprinted to maintain his lead by finishing 11th on the stage.

“He told me he wanted to defend it and he did,” said Trentin. “With four victories I don’t have the jersey, it’s kind of a joke. It is a pity but I can survive.”

There was also an emotional send-off for Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo) on his final day as a professional cyclist.

The three-time Vuelta winner signed off in style with victory on the steep mountain climb to Alto de l’Angliru on Saturday and was given the honor of leading the peloton around the first lap of the Madrid circuit.

“The whole race has been special,” said Contador, who also performed a lap of honor before the adoring Spanish crowds. “Yesterday was as good as it gets. It was a stage I’ll always remember and I feel very fortunate.”

A winner of seven grand tours, Contador is one of just six riders to have won all three of the Tour de France, Giro d’Italia and the Vuelta.

As well as taking home the red jersey as overall winner, Froome also won the green jersey points classification and white jersey combined classification. Davide Villella (Cannondale-Drapac) won the polka-dot jersey mountains classification and Miguel Ángel López (Astana) was the race’s best young rider. Astana won the teams classification and Contador received the combativity award as the race’s most aggressive rider.