1. Home
  2. »
  3. Tour de France
  4. »
  5. 2017 Tour de France, stage 10

2017 Tour de France

STAGE 10: Périgueux to Bergerac

Tuesday, July 11, 7:25 a.m. – 11:15 a.m. ET

The riders will leave the Alps via plane for a rest day in the Dordogne. This will bring a complete change of scenery, with the action restarting on what should be a rather tranquil stage 10. The route is short and follows a magnificent route that winds through the Périgord countryside and passes close to the Lascaux caves. In theory, this is a stage that shouldn’t slip through the sprinters’ fingers.

Stage 10: Kittel sets new German record with 13th win

Marcel Kittel
Marcel Kittel sprinted to his fourth victory in the 2017 Tour de France in stage 10 in Bergerac. Photo: Tim De Waele | TDWsport.com

Wearing the sprinter’s green colors from head to toe, Marcel Kittel won his 13th career Tour de France stage in Bergerac Tuesday. With his victory in stage 10, the Quick-Step rider stands alone with most Tour stage wins of any German rider. John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo) was second but not even close. Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNL-Jumbo) was third on the stage.

“Of course it means something for me,” Kittel said when asked about being the most successful German in Tour history. “I never expected it when I was starting my career. I never expected to be in the Tour. It’s hard to imagine.”

Sky’s Chris Froome maintained a low profile in the 178km stage from Perigueux. He kept the yellow jersey. The Tour’s overall standings did not change.

Stage 11, top 10

1. Marcel Kittel (GER/QST) in 4h01:00.
2. John Degenkolb (GER/TRE) at 0:00.
3. Dylan Groenewegen (NED/LNL) 0:00.
4. Rüdiger Selig (GER/BOR) 0:00.
5. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/KAT) 0:00.
6. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA/COF) 0:00.
7. Daniel McLay (GBR/TFO) 0:00.
8. Pieter Vanspeybrouck (BEL/AJW) 0:00.
9. Sonny Colbrelli (ITA/BAH) 0:00.
10. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/DDT) 0:00.

Top-10 overall

1. Christopher Froome (GBR/Sky) in 42h27:28.
2. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) at 0:18.
3. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 0:51.
4. Rigoberto Uran (COL/CAN) 0:55.
5. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN/AST) 1:37.
6. Daniel Martin (EIR/QST) 1:44.
7. Simon Yates (GBR/ORI) 2:02.
8. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 2:13.
9. Mikel Landa (ESP/SKY) 3:06.
10. George Bennett (NZL/LNL) 3:53.

On a day tailor-made for the sprinters, only two riders dared to ride off the front. Tour debutants Yoann Offredo (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) and Elie Gesbert (Fotuneo-Oscaro) escaped for much of the day until they were caught 7km from the finish.

André Greipel’s Lotto-Soudal team took charge of the peloton, riding the front for much of the final five kilometers.

However, the lead-out disintegrated in the final kilometer, which had a few sharp corners.

Exiting the final 90-degree left-hand corner, Katusha-Alpecin’s Marco Haller was on the front for Alexander Kristoff. Kittel was well back with 500 meters to go. His patience was the proper tactic in this finish.

Dan McLay (Fortuneo-Oscaro) jumped early, and Kittel hopped into the Brit’s slipstream. The German quickly passed eight riders on the left side. His victory was never in doubt as McLay’s sprint fizzled in the final 50 meters.

“I can’t really believe it it’s number four. I’m so happy,” Kittel added. It was his fourth victory of this Tour.

“I saw that McLay started very early to sprint to the front and that was my lead-out.”

Kittel could add a fifth win to his trophy case during this Tour in Wednesday’s stage 11. The race from Eymet to Pau only has one categorized climb on the 203.5km route.