VN news ticker: Lorena Wiebes wins stage 2 of the LOTTO Thüringen Ladies Tour, Vuelta a España confirms Dutch start for 2022

Here's the news making headlines for Wednesday, May 26.

Get access to everything we publish when you join VeloNews or Outside+.

Lorena Wiebes wins stage 2 of the LOTTO Thüringen Ladies Tour

Lorena Wiebes (Team DSM) outsprinted Emma Norsgaard (Movistar Team) for the stage 2 win of the 2021 LOTTO Thüringen Ladies Tour. Christine Marjerus (SD Worx) crossed the line in third.

The peloton took on two 62km laps around the city of Gera, and twice took on the short but steep ascent of the Kaltenborn, 11km from the finish.

In the second assault of the Dürrenberg and Kaltenborn climbs, nervousness grew. In Dürrenberg, Katherin Hammes (Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling) was the first to get over the top and secured the QOM jersey.

Nearly 60 women took on the finish, but it was the young Wiebes who took the bunch win.

LOTTO Thüringen Ladies Tour stage 2 results

  1. Lorena Wiebes (Team DSM), 3:24:12
  2. Emma Norsgaard (Movistar Team), at 00:01
  3. Christine Marjerus (SD Worx), at s.t.

Vuelta a España confirms Dutch start for 2022

The Vuelta a España will roll out of the Netherlands next year.

Race organizers have confirmed that the 2022 edition will start with three stages in the Netherlands after plans to host a “Dutch start” in 2020 were canceled due to COVID complications. It has been 13 years since the Vuelta last passed through Dutch territory.

“To return to the Netherlands, which is the quintessential cycling nation, is something we’ve been wanting to do for a very long time,” said race director Javier Guillén. “Holland is a guarantee for success in terms of organization and I have no doubt that, despite the complexity of the current situation, we will be able to carry out the event safely and successfully.

“In 2020 we were forced to make a decision that we never wanted to make, but which we were compelled to make given the circumstances. Despite everything, the Netherlands’ commitment and wish to host La Vuelta hasn’t changed a bit since then. It’s a pleasure for us to work with institutions that are so committed and that love cycling as much as they do.”

Utrecht will host an opening stage time trial and the finish of the second stage. Stage 3 will be a loop in and out of Breda before the race returns to Spain.

Victor Campenaerts pulls out of Giro

Victor Campenaerts (Qhubeka-Assos) did not start stage 17 of the 2021 Giro d’Italia. The stage 15 winner cited pain from tendonitis in his right knee as the reason for not continuing on.

He first noticed it the day following his win, on the rainy stage to Cortina d’Ampezzo.

“Pain first appeared in cold conditions Monday. Unfortunately, the treatment did not change anything,” Campenaerts said.

The Belgian’s departure leaves the South African registered squad with just five riders remaining after Domenico Pozzovivo and Giacomo Nizzolo both withdrew.

Germany and Netherlands withdraw from European Track Championships

The German and Dutch cycling federations announced today that they had pulled out of the European Track Championships scheduled for Minsk in June as a protest of Belarus’ diversion of a passenger plane and arrest of a journalist on board the airliner that was forced to land by a fighter jet.

International disapproval of Belarus and its president, Alexander Lukashenko, has increased since Lukashenko’s government diverted an Irish-owned jet on Sunday to arrest Roman Protasevich, an opposition journalist who was on board.

“After the events of last weekend, we have made contact with the European Cycling Union (UEC) and made clear that our participation is not possible under these circumstances,” the German federation (BDR) said in a statement.

The Dutch federation (KNWU) said that “the safety of [our] riders and staff cannot be guaranteed,” and has similarly pulled out of the event.

Responding to the sudden withdrawals and at the urging of member nations, the UEC said Tuesday it was considering moving the track championships, scheduled for June 23-27.