Wiggins, defending champion Stannard in Sky lineup for Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

Team Sky has set its lineup for Saturday's Omloop Het Nieuwsblad. Bradley Wiggins and defending champion Ian Stannard will make the start.

Team Sky has named its squad to take on Saturday’s Omloop Het Nieuwsblad in Belgium. The cobbled classics opener is a race in which the team has had a very successful run so far, with Juan Antonio Flecha winning in 2010, Sky’s first year at the event, and Ian Stannard victorious in 2014.

Bradley Wiggins will head up the Sky lineup at the 2015 edition of the Omloop, alongside defending champion Ian Stannard, Luke Rowe, Bernhard Eisel, Andy Fenn, Christian Knees, Salvatore Puccio and Chris Sutton.

Servais Knaven will serve as Sky’s Sports Director for both the Omloop and Sunday’s Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne. “After a good training period over the winter we have a strong group heading into the classics. We’re excited to get started with this key phase of the season,” Knaven said.

The outcome of the Omloop will play a role in determining the team’s lineup for Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne.

“As we all know, anything can happen during Saturday’s race, so we will sit down on Saturday night and assess how things have gone before confirming our line up for Kuurne,” Kaven said.

Team Sky for Omloop Het Nieuwsblad (Feb. 28):
Bernhard Eisel (A), Andy Fenn (GB), Christian Knees (G), Salvatore Puccio (I), Luke Rowe (GB), Ian Stannard (GB), Chris Sutton (GB), and Bradley Wiggins (GB).