Valentin Iglinskiy surprises sprinters at Tour of Turkey

Valentin Iglinskiy (Astana) surprised the top sprinters to dart to victory in Monday’s stage 2 at the Tour of Turkey.

2011 Tour of Turkey, stage 2
Iglinskiy surprised the sprinters on stage 2

Valentin Iglinskiy (Astana) surprised the top sprinters to dart to victory in Monday’s second stage at the Tour of Turkey.

The 26-year-old Iglinskiy held off Alessandro Petacchi (Lampre) to win the 178km run from Kusadasi to Turgutreis. Overnight leader Andrea Guardini (Farnisi Vini) lost more than four minutes to plummet out of the leader’s jersey.

“I had the feeling I could do well, because I am in good condition actually. This victory is very gratifying, because here there are great sprinters and I managed to make a difference today,” Igliskiy said in a team report. “It’s a great reward for the team because my teammates worked very well in the last kilometers to place me before the sprint. ”

Astana sports director Alexandr Shefer added, “Yesterday we saw that Valentin was in good shape and we could count on him to win a sprint. So today, the team has worked to position and he managed to beat big names like Pettachi, Farrar, Greipel … we’re all very happy.”

Iglinskiy won last year’s Tour of Hainan, after a sprint victory in stage 2, and then he kept the leader’s jersey until the end.

“Here, our goal was to win a stage,” Shefer said. “Now we’ll see day after day if we can keep the jersey or not, but already we are satisfied with this stage victory.”

The win is his first of the season for Iglinskiy, who also takes over the lead. Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Cervélo) slotted into second at four seconds back. Farrar was sixth on the stage after finishing second in Sunday’s opener. Kenny Van Hummel (Ski-Shimano) is third at six seconds back.

The 47th Tour of Turkey continues Tuesday with the 166km third stage from Bodrum to Marmaris in what should be another chance for the sprinters.

Quick results
Stage 2

  • 1. Valentin IGLINSKIY, (KAZ) Astana, in 4:23:28
  • 2. Alessandro PETACCHI, (ITA) Lampre-Farnese Vini, at s.t.
  • 3. Elia FAVILLI, (ITA), at s.t.
  • 4. Juan Pablo FORERO CARRENO, (COL) Colombia Es Pasion Coldeportes, at s.t.
  • 5. Stefan VAN DIJK, (NED), at s.t.


  • 1. Valentin IGLINSKIY, (Kazakhstan) Astana, in 6:59:12
  • 2. Tyler FARRAR, (United States) Garmin-Cervelo, at 4
  • 3. Kenny Robert VAN HUMMEL, (Netherlands) Skil-Shimano, at 6
  • 4. Elia FAVILLI, (Italy), at 6
  • 5. Stefan VAN DIJK, (Netherlands), at 10
  • Complete results