UCI confirms 8 ProTeam, 13 Pro Continental registrations

Katusha, Movistar and RadioShack-Nissan have yet to have their registrations approved and face hearings

AIGLE, Switzerland (VN) — The Union Cycliste International (UCI) has confirmed the registrations of eight ProTeams and 13 Professional Continental teams for the 2013 season.

The world governing body announced Friday that Astana, BMC Racing Team, Cannondale, Lampre-Merida, Omega Pharma-Quick Step, Orica-GreenEdge, Sky Procycling and Vacansoleil-DCM had met “the required sporting, ethical, financial and administrative criteria” for ProTeam status.

Ag2r La Mondiale, Euskaltel-Euskadi, Garmin-Sharp, the former Rabobank team, and Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank, which seek renewal of their licenses, were automatically called before the UCI’s License Commission.

FDJ and Lotto-Belisol, which are ranked between 16th and 20th in terms of sporting value, also drew automatic appearances before the commission, as did Argos-Shimano, a Pro Continental squad that hopes to step up to ProTeam status.

Katusha, Movistar and RadioShack-Nissan face hearings “in accordance with article 2.15.071 of the regulations,” which means their registrations have been declined for the moment, but may yet be approved pending the decision of the commission. No explanation was given.

Registered as Pro Continental are Accent Jobs-Wanty, Androni Giocattoli, Caja Rural, CCC Polsat Polkowice, Cofidis, IAM Cycling, Landbouwkrediet-Euphony, Sojasun, Europcar, Team Netapp-Endura, Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise, UnitedHealthCare and Vini Fantini.

The first decisions of the License Commission are expected in late November, with a final ruling due on December 10.