UCI approves 19 Pro Conti’ teams for ’10

The UCI has approved 19 pro conti team applications. Rock Racing's application is denied.

Following the delivery of independent auditors’ reports, the UCI has approved the registration applications of 19 teams seeking professional continental team status for 2010.

Under current UCI rules, the professional continental designation represents the sport’s second-highest level status afforded to cycling teams, below that of UCI ProTour teams and above those teams designated as UCI continental squads.

One application not accepted was from Rock Racing.

Team owner Michael Ball said the team will keep trying.

“We’re obviously very disappointed but are working diligently to satisfy every requirement that is being asked of us. We are committed to doing whatever it takes to ensure we can race next year,” Ball said in a team statement.

Professional continental teams are required to employ a minimum of 14 riders, two team managers and three other staff. The applicant teams are also required to meet financial reporting requirements and submit documentation of their compliance with those rules to the UCI.

Several top teams have opted to seek professional continental team status, rather than comply with the more stringent and expensive requirements that accompany ProTour status. Nonetheless, several professional continental teams have fielded strong, well-financed programs, most notably among them, the Cervélo TestTeam of former Tour de France winner Carlos Sastre. The U.S.-registered BMC team will also field a strong roster in 2010, including reigning world champion Cadel Evans. Those and other professional continental teams are expected to ride in most of the world’s top cycling events.

The governing body then relies on the international auditing firm of Ernst & Young to review those submissions prior to issuing its list of registered teams.

On Wednesday, the governing body released the following list of 19 teams whose registration applications have been approved for 2010:

  • Acqua & Sapone, (I)
  • Andalucia Cajasur, (Sp)
  • Bbox Bouygues Telecom, (F)
  • BMC Racing Team, (USA)
  • Carmiooro-NGC, (GB)
  • CCC Polsat Polkowice, (Pol)
  • Ceramica Flaminia, (Irl)
  • Cervélo Test Team, (Swi)
  • Cofidis, (F)
  • Colnago-CSF Inox, (Irl)
  • De Rosa-Stac Plastic, (Irl)
  • ISD-Neri, (I)
  • Landbouwkrediet, (B)
  • Saur-Sojasun, (F)
  • Scott-Marcondes César Sao José dos Campos, (Brz)
  • Skil-Shimano, (Nl)
  • Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator, (B)
  • Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team, (Nl)
  • Voralberg-Corratec, (A)