UCI approves 18 teams for its top division in 2014

Europcar, Trek Factory Racing among 18-team top division for 2014

Eighteen teams will comprise cycling’s top division in 2014 after the sport’s world governing body, the UCI, confirmed its registered ProTeams on Tuesday. French team Europcar will make the move up from the Pro Continental ranks and the UCI approved Trek Factory Racing’s purchase of the RadioShack-Leopard license, which runs through next year.

The UCI extended the license for Belgian squad Lotto-Belisol following a meeting in late November. The License Commission also offered two-year approval to Lampre-Merida and Europcar, and three-year approval to four teams whose registration expired following the 2013 season: Astana, Movistar, Orica-GreenEdge, and Sky.

UCI ProTeams for 2014:
Ag2r La Mondiale (FRA)
Belkin (NED)
BMC Racing (USA)
Cannondale (ITA)
Garmin-Sharp (USA)
Omega Pharma-Quick Step (BEL)
Katusha (RUS)
Tinkoff-Saxo (DEN)
Lotto-Belisol (BEL)
Astana (KAZ)
Lampre-Merida (ITA)
Movistar (ESP)
Orica-GreenEdge (AUS)
Sky (GBR)
Europcar (FRA)
Argos-Shimano (NED)
Trek Factory Racing (USA)

UCI Pro Continental teams for 2014:
Adroni Giocattoli (ITA)
Bardiani-CSF (ITA)
Caja Rural-Seguros RGA (ESP)
CCC Polsat Polkowice (POL)
Cofidis (FRA)
Colombia (COL)
Drapac (AUS)
IAM Cycling (SUI)
MTN-Qhubeka (AFS)
RusVelo (RUS)
NetApp-Endura (GER)
Novo Nordisk (USA)
Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise (BEL)
UnitedHealthcare (USA)
Wanty-Groupe Gobert (BEL)
Yellow Fluo (ITA)
Bretagne-Seche Environnement (FRA)