Tour of the Alps stage 2: Simon Yates sets blistering climbing pace, distances GC favorites

The Team BikeExchage rider dropped the climbing specialists and surged into the overall race lead.

Get access to everything we publish when you join VeloNews or Outside+.

Simon Yates (Team BikeExchange) blew up stage 2 of the 2021 Tour of the Alps on the only Cat. 1 climb of the day.

Distancing Nairo Quintana (Arkéa-Samsic), Pavel Sivakov (Ineos Grenadiers), and Hugh Carthy (EF Education-Nippo) with an attack at 24km to go, the 2018 Vuelta a España winner proved his form is good two weeks ahead of the first grand tour of the 2021 season.

“I tried really hard; it was a very tough climb. Those guys were not easy to get rid of, I tried several times and that really took it out of me for the valley road to the finish,” Yates said.

The defending champion Sivakov, distanced the other pursuers when he chased after Yates, but could not reel in the British climber, and ultimately came across the line in second.

Chris Froome (Israel Start-Up Nation) struggled again. After losing 5 minutes in Monday’s opening stage, the four-time Tour de France winner finished in a group more than 14 minutes in arrears.

Yates, already earning two wins in 2021, is racing the Tour of the Alps for the first time.

“I enjoy these [shorter] stages. We race from the start, rather than messing around for 150k,” Yates said. “So far so good, still a lot of very hard stages to come.”

Simon Yates distanced his pursuers on the only cat 1 climb of the day.
Yates distanced Sivakov, Carthy, and Quintana on the only Cat 1 climb of the day. Photo: Tim de Waele/Getty Images

Tour of the Alps Stage 2 Results

  1. Simon Yates (Team BikeExchange), 3:17:42
  2. Pavel Sivakov (Ineos Grenadiers), at 00:41
  3. Dan Martin, (Israel Start-Up Nation), at 00:58
  4. Aleksandr Vlasov (Astana-Premier Tech), at s.t.
  5. Jefferson Cepeda (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec), at s.t.
  6. Jai Hindley (Team DSM), at 1:17
  7. Hugh Carthy (EF Education-Nippo), at s.t.
  8. Nick Schultz (Team BikeExchange), at 1:42
  9. Romain Bardet (Team DSM), at s.t.
  10. Ruben Guerreiro (EF Education-Nippo), at s.t.