Team Type 1 reshapes into all-diabetic Novo Nordisk for 2013

American Pro Continental squad reorganizes with an all-diabetic roster and new sponsor, looks to 2021 Tour de France

Get access to everything we publish when you join VeloNews or Outside+.

Team Type 1-Sanofi management has announced that the team will restructure under new sponsor Novo Nordisk in 2013. The move, which team owner Phil Southerland announced via Twitter on Tuesday, will see the Pro Continental squad move to an all-diabetic roster next season.

Southerland said on Tuesday that he hoped to contribute to improving the reputation of cycling in the wake of the Armstrong affair.

“Looking at the timing of our launch and the fact that we will compete all around the world as the first diabetic cycling team solely with the purpose of inspiration, I really hope we can rebuild the reputation of cycling. This sport is the reason I am alive,” he said in an interview with Robin Yapp.

That contribution, Southerland hopes, will include a Tour de France bid for an all-diabetic team.

“The goal is 2021,” said Southerland. “Insulin was created in 1921. On the 100th anniversary of the drug that keeps me alive it would be awesome to empower diabetics across the world by putting an all Type 1 diabetic team in the Tour de France.”

Team Type 1 enjoyed its strongest season to date in 2012, earning wins including the Philadelphia International Championship and a stage of the Tour de Beauce. The squad jettisoned much of its roster ahead of the reorganization, including Alessandro Bazzana, Alexander Efimkin, and longtime sprinter Aldo Ino Ilesic.

Novo Nordisk 2013 roster
Fabio Calabria (Aus)
Andrea Ciacchini (Ita)
Stephen Clancy (Irl)
Paolo Cravanzola (Ita)
Joe Eldridge (USA)
Joonas Henttala (Fin)
Javier Megias Leal (Spa)
Kevin De Mesmaeker (Bel)
Justin Morris (Aus)
Andrea Peron (Ita)
Aaron Perry (NZl)
Thomas Raeymaekers (Bel)
David Lozano Riba (Spa)
Branden Russell (USA)
Andrei Strelkov (Rus)
Chris Williams (Aus)
Martijn Verschoor (Ned)