Paris-Roubaix by the numbers

Paris-Roubaix by the numbers

1cm. Narrowest margin of victory (between Eddy Planckaert and Steve Bauer in 1990).

2. Number of feed zones on Sunday, at Solesmes (115.5km) and Beuvry-la-Fort (191km).

3. Wins scored by Tom Boonen (2005, 2008 and 2009).

Click for larger image
The forest of Arenberg

4. Record number of victories by “Mr. Paris-Roubaix” Roger De Vlaeminck.

5:21. Biggest postwar winning margin, by Eddy Merckx (over De Vlaeminck) in 1970.

6:15:53. Winner’s race time in 2009.

9. Number of postwar victories by the French.

10:35. Start time (European time) on Sunday in Compiègne.

12:15:00. Winner’s time in 1919 on roads devastated by World War I.

14. Number of spectators injured (including three seriously) when a police moto crashed at Orchies last year.

15. Number of times Dutchman Servais Knaven (the 2001 winner) has finished Paris-Roubaix.

16. Record number of times Belgian Raymond Impanis finished Paris-Roubaix from 1947 to 1963.

25. Number of (eight-man) teams starting the race on Sunday.

27. Number of cobblestone sectors on Sunday.

30. Total number of French victories.

38 (and 8 months). Age of oldest winner, Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle, in 1993.

41.342 kph. Average speed for winner Tom Boonen in 2009.

45.129 kph. Record average speed by Peter Post in 1964 (before the course was made much tougher).

52.9km. Total length of cobblestone sectors on Sunday.

53. Total number of Belgian victories.

57.7km. Total length of cobblestone sectors in 1992.

81. Number of different riders who have won at Roubaix at least once.

99. Number of riders who finished the race from 187 starters in 2009.

100km. Total length of cobblestone sectors in 1968.

107. Number of editions of Paris-Roubaix to date.

180. Number of countries that will show TV broadcast of Paris-Roubaix on Sunday.

222km. Length of breakaway by winner Dirk Demol and runner-up Thomas Wegmüller in 1988.

259km. Race distance this Sunday.

Paris-Roubaix will be live on on Sunday.

1,000. Number of French francs won by first Roubaix winner Josef Fischer (seven times the monthly salary of a miner in 1896).

1896. Year that Paris-Roubaix was first held.

1968. Year the course was changed, starting in Chantilly and including the “new” tougher cobblestone sectors.

1977. Year race first started in Compiègne.

2,400m. Length of the infamous Wallers-Arenberg cobblestone sector.

3,700m. Length of longest cobblestone sector (between Quiévy and Hornaing).

30,000 euros. Winner’s prize on Sunday ($40,000).

91,000 euros. Total prize money on Sunday ($121,275).

Compiliation and translation by John Wilcockson