Martin, Voigt among Omega Pharma, Shack teams for TTT worlds

RadioShack lines us in Limburg without Fabian Cancellara, while Omega Pharma brings a solid squad to the team time trial

Omega Pharma-Quick Step and RadioShack-Nissan have announced their lineups for Sunday’s team time trial at the UCI Road World Championships.

With Fabian Cancellara hanging up his shoes for the season, Germans Andreas Klöden and Jens Voigt will captain RadioShack’s six-man squad headed for the Limburg region of the Netherlands. Joining them will be Tony Gallopin, Yaroslav Popovych, Jesse Sergent and Haimar Zubeldia.

Omega Pharma’s six-man roster, chock-full of national champions, consists of Belgian road champ Tom Boonen, French TT champ Sylvain Chavanel, Dutch road champ Niki Terpstra, Belgian TT champ Kristof Vandewalle, Slovak TT champ Peter Velits, and Tony Martin, the reigning world time trial champion.

“This is the first time we had a race like this,” said Omega Pharma director Wilfried Peeters in a release. “We did some specific training, but it will be important that on Friday and Saturday we will do more training on the parcours to tune up all of the duties and responsibilities of each rider — the perfect line, who takes the corners, who makes the final effort, things like that.”

The 53.2km course (women will cover 32km) will finish near the top of the Cauberg climb, which the riders will also see at the finish of the individual time trial and road race.

“It’s a very dynamic parcours with some tricky roundabouts, but also with some climbs,” Peeters said. “The team is good… our goal is to get a spot on the podium.”