Mancebo, Holcomb win Cascade Cycling Classic's Francisco Mancebo and Colavita's Janel Holcomb win the overall at the Cascade Classic stage race

Pro Men

After Fernando Antogna (Jamis Sutter Home) won the Old Mill Prologue and Cesar Grajales ( won the stage 1 McKenzie Pass Road Race, Francisco Mancebo ( found himself in second in the GC standings going into stage 2. Mancebo took the stage 2 Skyliners Time Trial win by out riding Tom Zirbel (Jamis Sutter Home) by 21 seconds. This stage win put Mancebo into the leader’s jersey and his consistency for the rest of the classic kept him there.

Lachlan Morton (Chipotle Development Team) focused on closing the gap that Mancebo had over him going into the last stage. Morton’s second place finish in stage 5’s circuit race was not enough to overtake Mancebo, but enough to earn him second overall. Morton also won the Young Rider Classification. Jeremy Vennell (Bissell Pro Cycling) rounded out the GC podium with third.

Chipotle had a successful weekend with Morton winning the Young Rider Classification, Alex Howes taking the KOM title, and Rob Bush taking the Sprinter’s Jersey. Bissell Pro Cycling came out on top to win the team classification by 9 seconds over Chipotle.

Quick Results
Final GC:

  • 1. Francisco Mancebo, Pro Cycling, in 10:42:00
  • 2. Lachlan Morton, Chipotle Development Team, in 10:42:42
  • 3. Jeremy Vennell, Bissell Pro Cycling, in 10:42:49
  • 4. Luis Romero Amaran, Jamis Sutter Home, in 10:42:55
  • 5. Tom Zirbel, Jamis Sutter Home, in 10:43:09
  • Complete final results

Best Young Rider

  • Lachlan Morton (Chipotle Development Team), in 10:42:42

King of the Mountain

  • Alex Howes (Chipotle Development Team), 21 points

Sprinter’s Jersey

  • Rob Bush (Chipotle Development Team), 16 points

Overall Team Classification

  • Bissell Pro Cycling in 31:57:30

Pro Women

Janel Holcomb (Colavita/Forno d’Asolo) won the overall women’s race, which also moved her up into the lead in the National Racing Calendar (NRC) ranks. Holcomb, who finished second on stage 5 in a breakaway, was able to gain just over 2 minutes on the GC leader, Clara Hughes (Cycling BC) and take the GC lead. Anne Samplonius (NOW and Novartis for MS) rode with Holcomb in a breakaway that had formed midrace to win the final stage. This win moved her into second for the final GC standings. Hughes moved into third.

Along with Holcomb’s overall win, Rushlee Buchanan and Andrea Dvorak helped their team, Colavita/Forno d’Asolo, win the team classification. Buchanan won the Young Rider Classification and Dvorak won the QOM. Samplonius won the Sprinter’s Jersey.

Quick Results
Final overall:

  • 1. Janel Holcomb, Colavita/Forno d’Asolo, in 10:47:44
  • 2. Anne Samplonius, NOW and Novartis for MS, in 10:48:07
  • 3. Clara Hughes, Cycling BC, in 10:48:53
  • 4. Erinne Willock, Team TIBCO/To the Top, in 10:49:06
  • 5. Kristin Mcgrath, Peanut Butter & Co.Twenty12, in 10:49:12
  • Complete final results

Best Young Rider

  • Rushlee Buchanan (Colavita/Forno d’Asolo), in 10:50:00

Queen of the Mountain

  • Andrea Dvorak (Colavita/Forno d’Asolo), 14 points

Sprinter’s Jersey

  • Anne Samplonius (NOW and Novartis for MS), 12 points

Overall Team Classification

  • Colavita/Forno d’Asolo, in 32:15:53