Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In



Le Samyn des Dames: Emma Norsgaard wins after late break caught in finale

Chiara Consonni and Vittoria Guazzini complete the podium.

Don't miss a moment from Paris-Roubaix and Unbound Gravel, to the Giro d’Italia, Tour de France, Vuelta a España, and everything in between when you join Outside+.

Emma Norsgaard (Movistar Team) timed her sprint to perfection to win Le Samyn des Dames in Belgium, Tuesday.

The Danish rider had to bide her time in a tense finale after two riders broke clear in the final 6km but the 22-year-old benefited from excellent teamwork before launching her sprint inside the final 200m.

Norsgaard came by breakaway riders Shirin van Anrooij (Trek-Segafredo) and Vittoria Guazzini (FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope) to win ahead of Chiara Consonni (Valcar – Travel & Service). Guazzini hung on for third.

The win represented Norsgaard’s first victory of the season after she was second in Sunday’s Omloop van het Hageland.

“I’m quite happy with results so far. The most important part was not to panic because there were breakaways all the time. I knew that I had a really strong team behind me and that it would finish in a sprint,” Norsgaard said at the finish.

I’m never sure of winning but I was feeling that we had a really good chance in the sprint.”

The race was decided in the final 25km with Grace Brown (FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope) putting in a major attack. She was joined and then dropped by Alice Barnes (Alice Barnes) with 10km remaining but Movistar and Uno-X Pro Cycling Team controlled the peloton and didn’t let the British rider build up more than just a handful of seconds.

When Barnes was caught a flurry of attacks took place but it was Shirin van Anrooij who put in the most telling dig. She went clear with Guazzini on her wheel and although the pair only had a slender advantage to start with they expanded their gap on the final cobbled section of the Rue de Belle Vue with 2.6km to go.

The Trek-Segafredo rider did most of the work and as the pair hit the final 1km and the road began to gently rise, it looked as though they would contest the sprint. However, the bunch quickly swamped the duo with Norsgaard proving the strongest.

Le Samyn des Dames Results

1NORSGAARD EmmaMovistar Team2:36:17
2CONSONNI ChiaraValcar - Travel & Service0:00
3GUAZZINI VittoriaFDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope0:00
4ANDERSEN SusanneUno-X Pro Cycling Team0:00
5COPPONI ClaraFDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope0:00
6VAN 'T GELOOF MarjoleinLe Col - Wahoo0:00
7VAN ANROOIJ ShirinTrek - Segafredo0:00
8BARNES AliceCanyon//SRAM Racing0:00
9BOSSUYT ShariCanyon//SRAM Racing0:00
10TOMASI LauraUAE Team ADQ0:00
11JOUNIER LucieArkéa Pro Cycling Team0:00
12FIDANZA AriannaTeam BikeExchange - Jayco0:00
13BARBIERI RacheleLiv Racing Xstra0:00
14MARKUS FemkeParkhotel Valkenburg0:00
15DUVAL EugénieFDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope0:00
16BOILARD SimoneSt Michel - Auber93 WE0:00
17NELSON JosieTeam Coop - Hitec Products0:00
18HOSKING ChloeTrek - Segafredo0:00
19JASTRAB MeganTeam DSM0:00
20ALZINI MartinaCofidis Women Team0:00
21BROWN GraceFDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope0:00
22MARTINS MariaLe Col - Wahoo0:05
23SMULDERS SilkeLiv Racing Xstra0:07
24VAN DER HULST AmberLiv Racing Xstra0:13
25DEMEY ValerieLiv Racing Xstra0:13
26CURINIER LéaTeam DSM0:23
27LUTRO AmalieUno-X Pro Cycling Team0:25
28CORDON-RAGOT AudreyTrek - Segafredo0:30
29HOLDEN ElizabethLe Col - Wahoo0:35
30BIANNIC AudeMovistar Team0:41
31GONZÁLEZ AliciaMovistar Team0:41
32PERSICO SilviaValcar - Travel & Service0:47
33GASPARRINI Eleonora CamillaValcar - Travel & Service0:47
34BREDEWOLD MischaParkhotel Valkenburg1:00
35WATERREUS KylieLotto Soudal Ladies1:00
36MEIJERING MareilleMultum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team1:00
37BORGSTRÖM JuliaNXTG by Experza1:00
38ANDERSSON CarolineTeam Coop - Hitec Products1:00
39OTTESTAD Mie BjørndalUno-X Pro Cycling Team1:00
40PEPERKAMP EsméeTeam DSM1:00
41KIRCHMANN LeahTeam DSM1:00
42GERRITSE FemkeParkhotel Valkenburg1:00
43SWINKELS SylvieTeam Coop - Hitec Products1:03
44GOOSSENS MartheMultum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team1:03
46BARALE FrancescaTeam DSM1:05
47POMPANON MargotSt Michel - Auber93 WE1:05
48GRANGIER IndiaStade Rochelais Charente-Maritime1:45
49DELBAERE FienMultum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team1:45
50DE JONG DemiParkhotel Valkenburg1:47
51BARNES HannahUno-X Pro Cycling Team1:47
52AHTOSALO AnniinaUno-X Pro Cycling Team4:25
53KNIGHT JosieLotto Soudal Ladies4:25
54PRUISSCHER AriannaStade Rochelais Charente-Maritime4:25
55BERTEAU VictoireCofidis Women Team4:25
56KESSLER NinaTeam BikeExchange - Jayco4:25
57KUMIEGA KarolinaValcar - Travel & Service4:25
58GÅSKJENN IngvildTeam Coop - Hitec Products4:25
60BRAAM DaniqueBingoal Casino - Chevalmeire - Van Eyck Sport4:25
61BURLOVÁ KristýnaLotto Soudal Ladies4:25
62KOLESAVA AnastasiyaStade Rochelais Charente-Maritime4:25
63SHARPE AliceIBCT4:25
64TACEY AprilLe Col - Wahoo4:25
65DEMAY CoralieSt Michel - Auber93 WE4:25
66LUDWIG HannahUno-X Pro Cycling Team4:25
67AVOINE AlisonSt Michel - Auber93 WE4:25
68PARKINSON Abby-MaeLotto Soudal Ladies4:25
69MASETTI GaiaNXTG by Experza4:25
70MOHR Mari HoleTeam Coop - Hitec Products4:25
71MERTENS FionaBingoal-WB Ladies4:25
72WILLIAMS GeorgiaTeam BikeExchange - Jayco4:25
73METTRAUX LénaAndy Schleck - CP NVST - Immo Losch4:25
74VERVLOET SterreLotto Soudal Ladies4:25
75VAN HOUTUM CélineMultum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team4:25
76PATERNOSTER LetiziaTrek - Segafredo4:25
77GUTIÉRREZ SheylaMovistar Team4:25
78LAURANCE TyphaineArkéa Pro Cycling Team4:25
79KERBAOL CédrineCofidis Women Team4:25
80RICHIOUD GretaArkéa Pro Cycling Team4:25
81CHRISTIAN AnnaLe Col - Wahoo4:25
82ŽIGART UrškaTeam BikeExchange - Jayco4:25
83ALLIN PaulineArkéa Pro Cycling Team4:25
84SANGUINETI IlariaValcar - Travel & Service4:25
85CAMPBELL TenielTeam BikeExchange - Jayco4:25
86BETZ SvenjaIBCT4:25
88DE GAST BelleParkhotel Valkenburg4:25
89STERN FriederikeAndy Schleck - CP NVST - Immo Losch4:25
90PATUELLI AlessiaUAE Team ADQ4:25
91CIPRESSI CarlottaValcar - Travel & Service4:25
92BERTON NinaAndy Schleck - CP NVST - Immo Losch4:25
93ZANETTI LindaUAE Team ADQ4:25
94DE ROECK NaomiBingoal Casino - Chevalmeire - Van Eyck Sport4:25
95CARBONARI AnastasiaValcar - Travel & Service4:25
96SNIEZYNSKA BarbaraBingoal Casino - Chevalmeire - Van Eyck Sport4:25
97AERNOUTS AmberNXTG by Experza4:25
98LE BAIL ElodieSt Michel - Auber93 WE4:25
100BÄCKSTEDT ElynorTrek - Segafredo4:42
101HANSON LaurettaTrek - Segafredo4:42
102BUURMAN EvaLiv Racing Xstra4:42
103WISEMAN EleanorBingoal-WB Ladies4:46
104FONSECA BarbaraSt Michel - Auber93 WE5:42
105BECKER CharlotteArkéa Pro Cycling Team5:42
106RIJNBEEK MaudNXTG by Experza5:49
107JOHANSSON HannaLviv Cycling Team women10:14
108BOS LeonieParkhotel Valkenburg10:47
109VAN HAAFTEN KirstieParkhotel Valkenburg10:47
110HENZELIN Lise-marieBingoal-WB Ladies18:08

Results provided by ProCyclingStats.