Jason McCartney, Phil Gaimon, Patrick McCarty join Bissell

Jason McCartney, Phil Gaimon, and Patrick McCarty highlight the 2013 additions to the Bissell roster

Bissell Pro Cycling has finalized its roster for next year, the team announced Thursday morning, and will add serious firepower by way of Phil Gaimon, Jason McCartney and Patrick McCarty.

McCartney, a two-time Olympian who boasts a stage win in the 2007 Vuelta a España, joins the team from Pro Continental squad UnitedHealthcare, having spent seven years in the WorldTour with Discovery Channel, CSC, and RadioShack between 2005 and 2011. McCarty also brings three years of WorldTour experience to Bissell, having raced for U.S. Postal Service, Discovery, and Phonak between 2004 and 2006 before moving onto the Slipstream-Chipotle squad.

Gaimon, a climbing specialist who won the Redlands Cycling Classic on his way to fifth in the National Racing Calendar rankings this year, hopes to use his time with Bissell to springboard to Europe in 2014.

“I realized that if I want to get to Europe I need to be on a team that does those races and that was Bissell,” Gaimon told VeloNews in August after missing out on the USA Pro Challenge and the Tours of California and Utah.

“Riders like Phil Gaimon, Patrick McCarty and Jason McCartney will add serious horsepower and results potential to what was arguably the best Bissell line-up ever in 2012,” said team director Omer Kem. “Returning riders Frank Pipp, Chris Baldwin and Jeremy Vennell will continue their roles as team captains and allowing Carter Jones and Paddy Bevin to add to their 2012 successes.”

This season, the team raced the Amgen Tour of California, the Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah, and the USA Pro Challenge, with Ben Jacques-Maynes taking the KOM jersey in Utah and Frank Pipp finshing second in the national road championship. Longtime stage racing captain Jacques-Maynes departed to join Jamis-Sutter Home for 2013.

Bisssell Pro Cycling 2013 roster
Frank Pipp (USA)
Chris Baldwin (USA)
Jeremy Vennell (Nzl)
Jason McCartney (USA)
Patrick McCarty (USA)
Phil Gaimon (USA)
Patrick Bevin (Nzl)
Carter Jones (USA)
Julian Kyer (USA)
Tommy Nankervis (Aus)
Andrew Dahlheim (USA)
Michael Torckler (Nzl)