Goss to leave Orica for MTN-Qhubeka in 2015

The Australian joins three other high-profile riders to join the South African-based team

Former Milano-Sanremo champion Matthew Goss is departing Orica-GreenEdge for MTN-Qhubeka next season.

The Australian, who has won two Giro d’Italia stages (2010, 2012) and two team time trials at the Vuelta a Espana (2010) and the Tour de France (2013), will bolster MTN’s spring classics and grand tour teams.

The 27-year-old Goss won Milano-Sanremo and a stage at Paris-Nice, the Amgen Tour of California, and the Tour of Oman in 2011. He was also second overall in the Santos Tour Down Under and won both the first stage and the sprints title at the Australian race that year. In 2013, Goss won the second stage at Tirreno-Adriatico.

“I am very excited to be joining Africa’s Pro-Continental outfit, Team MTN-Qhubeka,” Goss said in a press release. “I think that the foundations and ideas that the team is built on are really inspiring and motivating. Racing and winning as a team, for the sponsors and myself while helping to raise awareness for a great foundation like Qhubeka. I can’t wait to make the most of this opportunity, to win at the highest level throughout the Spring Classics and grand tours.

“The team being built for 2015 is going to be a fantastic team with great depth, strength and motivation. I come with a lot of experience racing at highest level over the past eight years and I’m excited to share my knowledge with the new generation of up and coming African riders. I look forward to working with the many other strong riders already part of Team MTN-Qhubeka and the riders joining for 2015.”

Said team principal Douglas Ryder: “Matthew Goss is a great addition to our strong focus on the spring classics and grand tours next year, he has worked for some of the best sprinters in the world and has won many significant races, too.”

It was recently announced that American Tyler Farrar will leave Garmin-Sharp and ride for MTN-Qhubeka next season, along with Edvald Boasson Hagen and Theo Bos.