Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Brands

Road

Geschke implies Bouhanni took push on Ruta climb before winning

Giant – Alpecin's Simon Geschke implies that Nacer Bouhanni broke the rules to rejoin the peloton prior to winning stage 2 at Ruta del Sol.

Don't miss a moment from Paris-Roubaix and Unbound Gravel, to the Giro d’Italia, Tour de France, Vuelta a España, and everything in between when you join Outside+.

Frenchman Nacer Bouhanni celebrated his first victory of 2016 Thursday, but some in the Ruta del Sol peloton were less enthused by the Cofidis rider’s stage 2 win.

Giant – Alpecin’s Simon Geschke expressed his frustration on Twitter, implying that Bouhanni was only able to rejoin the race after being pushed up the six-kilometer, category 3 Alto de Trassierra climb, which came late in the 186.3km day.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Though Geschke didn’t name the Cofidis rider, his claims were confirmed by another rider in the peloton, riding for a different team, who characterized the push Bouhanni took as “blatant.” The German’s complaints seem to be purely made on principle, as Giant – Alpecin did not have a sprinter in the mix at the finale — Geschke was the team’s top rider, finishing 19th.

If giving your teammate a helping hand up a hill sounds innocuous, it isn’t — UCI rule 2.3.012 states: “The pushing of one rider by another shall in all cases be forbidden, on pain of disqualification.”