Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In



Gent-Wevelgem: Marianne Vos opens her account for Jumbo-Visma

Vos wins bunch sprint after late attack from Elisa Longo Borghini and Soraya Paladin.

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Marianne Vos (Jumbo-Visma) snatched the bunch sprint of Gent-Wevelgem to take her first win with Jumbo-Visma, adding yet another trophy to her glittering palmarès.

Valcar-Travel & Service lit up the final sprint in Wevelgem, but Vos kicked hard from the other side of the charging bunch. The Dutchwoman was marked by Lotte Kopecky, but the Liv rider was unable to come around Vos’ powerful kick.

Kopecky took second, while Lisa Brennauer (Ceratizit-WNT) finished third.

The closing kilometers of the race saw a tense finale after Elisa Longo Borghini (Trek-Segafredo) and Soraya Paladin (Liv Racing) had gone clear with 20km to go and desperately dangled in front of the charging peloton. The Italian duo held a slim advantage through the final minutes only to be caught inside the final kilometer.

Vos’ win made it two in a day for Jumbo-Visma after Wout van Aert claimed the men’s race just two hours earlier. The race also marked the first victory for the newly formed women’s team.

Kemmelberg climb wears down the bunch

After an early break of two went clear, the peloton remained together through the opening hours despite the strong winds that could have caused echelons.

The race briefly shattered over the first ascent of the Kemmelberg only to reform through the gravel roads shortly afterward. It took until the second climb of the extra-steep berg at 35km for the race to again split, with Longo Borghini driving the pace as the peloton exploded behind.

Several groups bridged across in the kilometers afterward to leave a group of around 30 speeding toward Wevelgem.

Moves in final run toward Wevelgem

After a brief attack from Anna Henderson (Jumbo-Visma), Trek-Segafredo lit up the race with Longo Borghini, Lizzie Deignan, Ruth Winder, and Ellen van Dijk, pulling a group of eight clear of the peloton at 20km to go. Having started the attack, Longo Borghini kept on motoring, with only Paladin able to hold the wheel, and the Italian duo went into the final 10km with a 30-second lead.

Paladin and Longo Borghini worked together well, however as the group behind grew to around 30 riders, their lead slowly reduced as SD Worx and BikeExchange powered the chase.

The race was on a knife-edge in the final 5km as the Italian pair dangled in front of the charging bunch, with their lead hovering at around 10 seconds. Longo Borghini powered away at the front as Paladin looked fatigued, however the relentless pace in the group behind saw the pair’s brave break caught with just 500m to go.

Gent-Wevelgem In Flanders Fields WE Results

1VOS MarianneTeam Jumbo-Visma Women3:45:08
2KOPECKY LotteLiv Racing0:00
3BRENNAUER LisaCeratizit-WNT Pro Cycling0:00
4BALSAMO ElisaValcar - Travel & Service0:00
5BASTIANELLI MartaAlé BTC Ljubljana0:00
6FAHLIN EmiliaFDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope0:00
7FAULKNER KristenTeam TIBCO - SVB0:00
8ROY SarahTeam BikeExchange0:00
9NORSGAARD EmmaMovistar Team0:00
10STEPHENS LaurenTeam TIBCO - SVB0:00
11PIETERS AmyTeam SD Worx0:00
12LIPPERT LianeTeam DSM0:00
13REUSSER MarlenAlé BTC Ljubljana0:00
14RAGUSA KatiaA.R. Monex Women's Pro Cycling Team0:00
15SIERRA ArlenisA.R. Monex Women's Pro Cycling Team0:00
16NOVOLODSKAIA MariaA.R. Monex Women's Pro Cycling Team0:00
17DEIGNAN ElizabethTrek-Segafredo Women0:00
18BARNES HannahCanyon//SRAM Racing0:00
19MACKAIJ FloortjeTeam DSM0:00
20VAN DIJK EllenTrek-Segafredo Women0:00
21DE JONG ThalitaBingoal Casino - Chevalmeire Cycling Team 0:00
22BROWN GraceTeam BikeExchange0:00
23BUJAK EugeniaAlé BTC Ljubljana0:00
24MAJERUS ChristineTeam SD Worx0:00
25CHABBEY EliseCanyon//SRAM Racing0:00
26CAVALLI MartaFDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope0:00
27CROMWELL TiffanyCanyon//SRAM Racing0:00
28GUAZZINI VittoriaValcar - Travel & Service0:00
29KOREVAAR JeanneLiv Racing0:00
30KASTELIJN YaraPlantur-Pura0:00
31CECCHINI ElenaTeam SD Worx0:00
32FOURNIER RoxaneTeam SD Worx0:00
33LONGO BORGHINI ElisaTrek-Segafredo Women0:00
34WINDER RuthTrek-Segafredo Women0:00
35PALADIN SorayaLiv Racing0:05
36LUDWIG Cecilie UttrupFDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope0:05
37NIEWIADOMA KatarzynaCanyon//SRAM Racing0:05
38CONFALONIERI Maria GiuliaCeratizit-WNT Pro Cycling0:10
39KASPER RomyTeam Jumbo-Visma Women0:44
40VAN DER BURG NancyTeam Jumbo-Visma Women0:49
41GIGANTE SarahTeam TIBCO - SVB2:55
42HENDERSON AnnaTeam Jumbo-Visma Women4:05
43WILD KirstenCeratizit-WNT Pro Cycling4:09
44KLEIN LisaCanyon//SRAM Racing4:09
45VAN DER DUIN MaikeDrops - Le Col s/b TEMPUR.4:09
46VANDENBULCKE JesseLotto Soudal Ladies4:09
47JACKSON AlisonLiv Racing4:09
48LACH MartaCeratizit-WNT Pro Cycling4:09
49KOCH FranziskaTeam DSM4:09
50BORGLI StineFDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope4:09
51SOTO Catalina AnaisNXTG Racing4:09
52SCHWEINBERGER KathrinDoltcini - Van Eyck - Proximus CT4:09
53MARTINS MariaDrops - Le Col s/b TEMPUR.4:09
54LUTRO AmalieTeam Coop - Hitec Products4:09
55SALAZAR Lizbeth YareliA.R. Monex Women's Pro Cycling Team4:09
56FIDANZA AriannaTeam BikeExchange4:09
57STEIGENGA NicoleDoltcini - Van Eyck - Proximus CT4:09
58DELBAERE FienMultum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team4:09
59WATERREUS KylieMultum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team4:09
61NOOIJEN LiekeParkhotel Valkenburg4:09
62WIEBES LorenaTeam DSM4:09
63DUVAL EugénieFDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope4:09
64D'HOORE JolienTeam SD Worx4:09
65ALVARADO Ceylin del CarmenPlantur-Pura4:09
66DUYCK Ann-SophieMultum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team4:09
67SHARPE AliceTeam Rupelcleaning4:09
68MARKUS RiejanneTeam Jumbo-Visma Women4:09
69BAKKER ManonPlantur-Pura4:09
70RAAIJMAKERS MaritParkhotel Valkenburg4:09
71NORMAN LETH JulieCeratizit-WNT Pro Cycling4:09
72SWINKELS KarlijnTeam Jumbo-Visma Women4:09
73BUIJSMAN NinaParkhotel Valkenburg4:09
74GERRITSE FemkeParkhotel Valkenburg4:09
75GROSSETÊTE MaëlleFDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope4:09
76SHARPE AmeliaNXTG Racing4:09
77CONSONNI ChiaraValcar - Travel & Service4:09
78NILSSON HannaLotto Soudal Ladies4:09
79PLICHTA AnnaLotto Soudal Ladies4:09
80PENTON SaraDrops - Le Col s/b TEMPUR.4:09
81GUDERZO TatianaAlé BTC Ljubljana4:13
82PERSICO SilviaValcar - Travel & Service4:13
83SANGUINETI IlariaValcar - Travel & Service4:13
84GUARISCHI BarbaraMovistar Team4:13
85AMIALIUSIK AlenaCanyon//SRAM Racing4:13
86SCHWEINBERGER ChristinaDoltcini - Van Eyck - Proximus CT4:13
87BIANNIC AudeMovistar Team4:13
88BREDEWOLD MischaParkhotel Valkenburg4:13
89CANT SannePlantur-Pura4:13
90KESSLER NinaTeam TIBCO - SVB8:05
91VAN EYNDE FienDoltcini - Van Eyck - Proximus CT8:05
92KIRCHMANN LeahTeam DSM8:05
93KUIJPERS EvyLiv Racing8:05
94ERIĆ JelenaMovistar Team8:05
95VAN DEN STEEN KellyBingoal Casino - Chevalmeire Cycling Team 11:01
96CAMPBELL TenielTeam BikeExchange11:01
97RODRÍGUEZ GloriaMovistar Team11:01
98ANDERSEN SusanneTeam DSM11:01
99ERATH TanjaTeam TIBCO - SVB11:50
100VAN GOGH NatalieBingoal Casino - Chevalmeire Cycling Team 11:50
101MOBERG EmilieDrops - Le Col s/b TEMPUR.11:50
102DE SMEDT MarijkeMultum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team11:50
103SÜßEMILCH LauraPlantur-Pura11:50
104WADSWORTH EmilyNXTG Racing11:50
105DE ZOETE MylèneNXTG Racing11:50
106SPEROTTO Maria VittoriaA.R. Monex Women's Pro Cycling Team11:50
107KRÖGER MiekeTeam Coop - Hitec Products11:50
108VAN HOUTUM CélineMultum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team11:50
109DIDERIKSEN AmalieTrek-Segafredo Women11:50
110TENNIGLO MoniekTeam BikeExchange11:50
111GONZÁLEZ AliciaMovistar Team11:50

Results provided by ProCyclingStats.