Garmin-Sharp announces 2013 lineup with plans to build on success, train next generation

The 2013 roster is Garmin's youngest crop of riders to date

BOULDER, Colorado (VN) — Team Garmin-Sharp unveiled its 2013 roster on Friday with plans to build on its past successes while also developing its next generation of riders.

“We had our strongest season in the history of the team in 2012, with our first grand-tour win at the Giro, and we’ll be looking to build on that success in 2013,” said Jonathan Vaughters, CEO of Slipstream Sports.

“Our roster has an outstanding mix of new and returning riders, but with a focus on the next generation of riders. Slipstream’s roots are in developing young talent and with additions like Rohan Dennis, Lachlan Morton and the return of Caleb Fairly, we’re poised to continue that tradition and fortify the future of cycling.”

Dennis, the 2012 under-23 Australian road and time-trial national champion, comes from a track cycling background and has the world-championship medals to show for it. Finishing fifth overall in the 2012 Tour Down Under illustrated his potential for success on the road.

Countrymen Morton and Steele Von Hoff are graduates of Slipstream’s developmental program and rode as stagiares for the team in 2012. Von Hoff made the podium at stages in the Tour of Britain and Post Danmark Rundt.

Fairly, who rode for SpiderTech-C10 in 2012, is another product of Slipstream’s development program, netting one of its biggest wins in the 2010 Tour of the Battenkill.

Finally, veteran Nick Nuyens brings an impressive list of results with him from Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank, including victory at the 2011 Tour of Flanders. The Belgian classics specialist will join stalwarts Ryder Hesjedal, winner of the 2012 Giro d’Italia; sprinter Tyler Farrar; and stage racers Andrew Talansky and Dan Martin.

Garmin-Sharp for 2013

Jack Bauer
Tom Danielson *
Thomas Dekker
Rohan Dennis
Caleb Fairly
Tyler Farrar
Koldo Fernandez de Larrea
Nathan Haas
Ryder Hesjedal
Alex Howes
Robbie Hunter
Andreas Klier
Michel Kreder
Raymond Kreder
Martijn Maaskant
Dan Martin
David Millar
Lachlan Morton
Ramunas Navardauskas
Nick Nuyens
Jacob Rathe
Sebastien Rosseler
Peter Stetina
Andrew Talansky
Christian Vande Velde *
Johan Vansummeren
Steele VonHoff
Fabian Wegmann
David Zabriskie *

* Riders who will return to the team in March 2013 following six-month suspensions.