Farrar, Horner, Stevens, Armstrong highlight U.S. Olympic road team

USA Cycling announces the final selections for the men's and women's road teams for the London Games

USA Cycling today announced the men’s and women’s road teams for the 2012 Olympic Games in London. Sprinter Tyler Farrar and veteran Chris Horner will lead the men’s squad, while automatic qualifier Evelyn Stevens is among the women announced in the final roster.

“It feels fantastic to have been selected. I’ve been waiting for it a long time,” Horner told VeloNews. “With my age, as you get older, you know you’re running out of years, and you want to go. That feeling doesn’t die down; if anything, it grows stronger and stronger. Here I am, 40 years old, going to my first Olympics.”

Joining Farrar and Horner on the five-man men’s roster are U.S. road champion Timmy Duggan, Tejay van Garderen and Giro d’Italia stage winner Taylor Phinney. The selection committee selected Phinney over national TT champion Dave Zabriskie as the sole representative for the U.S. in the time trial.

Stevens was the top automatic qualifier for London, by way of a second tiebreaker. Stevens won La Flèche Wallonne Femmes in April. When Shelley Olds equaled the feat and tied Stevens on World Cup points with a win at the Tour of Chongming Island, the two faced a UCI points run-off. Stevens earned the automatic nod by topping Olds in season-long UCI points.

Olds may be the women’s team’s top hope for a road race medal, however, and the selection committee named her as a discretionary team member. Also making the women’s roster are defending time trial gold medalist Kristin Armstrong and former TT world champion Amber Neben, who will each compete in the time trial. Stevens, the current national TT champion, will not race the time trial in London.

Phinney, 21, wrote on Twitter Friday afternoon:

“Humbled to have been selected to represent the USA at the 2012 Olympic Games in the Road Race and Time Trial. What an honor! I can’t wait!!!”

Speaking in a release on the overall U.S. team selection for road, mountain and track, USA Cycling vice president of athletics, Jim Miller said the selection committee chose a balance of youth and veteran leadership for the Games.

“We have a strong team going to London with a solid combination of experience, leadership and young talented athletes who are all capable of standout performances,” said Miller. “Each member of the team is deserving, we’re proud to welcome them as a part of Team USA and look forward to a promising Olympic Games.”

2012 U.S. Olympic Team Nominations

Men’s Road
Timmy Duggan (Boulder, Colo./Liquigas-Cannondale)
Tyler Farrar (Wentachee, Wash./Garmin-Barracuda)
Chris Horner (Bend, Ore./RadioShack-Nissan)
**Taylor Phinney (Boulder, Colo./BMC Racing)
Tejay van Garderen (Tacoma, Wash./BMC Racing)

Women’s Road
**Kristin Armstrong (Boise, Idaho/Exergy Twenty12)
**Amber Neben (Irvine, Calif./Specialized-lululemon)
Shelley Olds (Gilroy, Calif./AA
*Evelyn Stevens (Acton, Mass./Specialized-lululemon)

Dotsie Bausch (Irvine, Calif./OUCH Pro Cycling) – Women’s team pursuit
*Sarah Hammer (Temecula, Calif./OUCH Pro Cycling) – Women’s omnium & team pursuit
Bobby Lea (Topton, Pa./Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA) – Men’s omnium
Jennie Reed (Seattle, Wash./OUCH Pro Cycling) – Women’s team pursuit
Lauren Tamayo (Asheville, N.C./Exergy Twenty12) – Women’s team pursuit
Jimmy Watkins (Bakersfield, Calif./Project London 2012) – Men’s sprint

Men’s BMX
*David Herman (Wheat Ridge, Colo./Free Agent-Rockstar)
Spot #2 Olympic Trials winner
Spot #3 discretionary nomination following Olympic Trials

Women’s BMX
*Arielle Martin (Spanaway Wash./Intense BMX)
Spot #2 discretionary nomination following Olympic Trials

Men’s Mountain Bike
Samuel Schultz (Missoula, Mont. /Subaru-Trek)
Todd Wells (Durango, Colo./Specialized Racing)

Women’s Mountain Bike
Lea Davison (Jericho, Vt. /Specialized Racing)
*Georgia Gould (Fort Collins, Colo. /Luna Pro Team)

* denotes automatic selection
** denotes road and time trial participation