Domestic Intel: Clarke, Kirchmann lead NCC

Rangel, Kirchmann win in Tucson; UnitedHealthcare, Optum take teams leads in National Criterium Calendar standings

Clarke, Kirchmann take NCC points leads

Hilton Clarke (UnitedHealthcare) and Leah Kirchmann (Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies) took control of the overall standings in the National Criterium Calendar on Monday. The NCC continues on March 23 with the Delray Beach Twilight Festival in Delray Beach, Florida and continues through the September 21 TD Bank Mayor’s Cup in Boston, Massachusetts.

1. Hilton Clarke (UnitedHealthcare) 155 points
2. Luke Keough (UnitedHealthcare) 100 points
3. Demis Aleman (Jamis-Hagens Berman) 75 points
3. Bruno Langlois (Garneau-Quebecor) 75 points
5. Rahsaan Bahati (Bahati Foundation) 69 points

1. Leah Kirchmann (Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies) 100 points
2. Erica Allar (CARE4CYCLING-Solomon) 75 points
3. Joanie Caron (Primal Pro Women-BH) 60 points
4. Lauren Hall (Optum-Kelly Benefits Strategies) 55 points
5. Cari Higgins (Exergy Twenty16) 50 points

Men’s team
1. UnitedHealthcare 311 points
2. SmartStop-Mountain Khakis 135 points
3. Jamis-Hagens Berman 94 points
4. UnitedHealthcare of Georgia-The 706 Project 85 points
5. Champion System-Stan’s NoTubes 66 points

Women’s team
1. Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies 172 points
2. CARE4CYCLING-Solomon 129 points
3. Primal Pro Women-BH 88 points
4. Exergy Twenty16 85 points
5. Novo Nordisk 30 points

Rangel, Kirchmann win overall titles at Tucson Bicycle Classic

Hector Rangel (P&S-Specialized) and Leah Kirchmann (Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies) won the overall titles at the Tucson Bicycle Classic on Sunday. Kirchmann and Rafael Meran (CRCA-Foundation) won Sunday’s women’s and men’s circuit races, respectively, to wrap up the three-day event.

Rangel scored a surprise win over a men’s field that included Michael Creed (Optum) and Ricardo Vandervelde (Jelly Belly-Kenda).

Full results from the organizer >>

Bishop, Batty lead Pro XCT standings

Jeremiah Bishop (Sho-Air-Cannondale) and Emily Batty (Trek Factory Racing) lead the Pro XCT standings after the series’ second event, the Bonelli Park Pro Triple Crown on March 16 in San Dimas, California. Bishop and Lesley Patterson (Scott Bikes) won the pro cross-country races at Bonelli Park.

1. Jeremiah Bishop (Sho-Air-Cannondale) 450 points
2. Todd Wells (Specialized Racing) 350 points
3. Sam Schultz (Trek Factory Racing) 280 points
4. Daniel McConnell (Trek Factory Racing) 250 points
5. Raphael Gagne 200 points

1. Emily Batty (Trek Factory Racing) 375 points
2. Annie Last (Trek Factory Racing) 340 points
3. Chloe Woodruff (Crankbrothers) 300 points
4. Erin Huck 260 points
5. Rebecca Henderson (Trek Factory Racing) 250 points
5. Lesley Patterson (Scott Bikes) 250 points