BMC Racing, Garmin among first Tour of Utah teams for 2013

Organizers announce 10 of 16 teams set to take part in the UCI tour in August

Organizers of the Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah on Thursday announced the first 10 teams to take part in the six-stage race in August.

BMC Racing will return to the event having won the overall with Johann Tschopp, who departed for IAM Cycling, in 2012. Joining the U.S.-registered squad will be UCI ProTeams Garmin-Sharp, RadioShack-Leopard, Cannondale, and Orica-GreenEdge.

Milano-Sanremo winner Gerald Ciolek’s UCI Pro Continental team, MTN-Qhubeka, will be at the start of the race on August 6 in Brian Head, Utah. China-registered Champion System will take part as well.

Organizers also announced the inclusion of three UCI Continental teams: America Tour-leading Funvic Brasilinvest-São José dos Campos and U.S. squads Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies and Bissell.

Organizers said they plan to announce the race’s complete lineup later this month.

“It’s very impressive to have such a strong, world-class field of professional cycling teams making Utah part of their race schedule each year,” Miller Sports Properties COO Steve Miller said in a press release. “Cycling fans should be excited to see a solid group of top-rated pro teams from around the globe, including tremendous new teams from Brazil, South Africa, and Australia. We expect to complete the invitation process in the coming weeks with some of the top domestic teams, so the competition this year should be the best yet.”

The 2013 Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah takes place August 6-11, with the overall finish in Park City.