Axeon Hagens Berman announces 2017 roster

Axeon Hagens Berman brings on eight new riders for 2017, along with directors Jeff Louder and Koos Moerenhout.

Axeon Hagens Berman, which has proven to be one of the most successful development teams in the past few years, announced its 2017 roster Friday. The U.S.-based Continental team, which won 34 races in 2016, will keep eight riders from the past season’s roster and has signed eight new cyclists to join the team.

Notable team veterans include Tour de Bretagne winner Adrien Costa, under-23 national road and time trial champion Geoffrey Curran, under-23 Liège-Bastogne-Liège winner Logan Owen, and Tour de l’Avenir stage winner Neilson Powless, who also won the best young rider’s jersey at the Amgen Tour of California in 2016.

“Our goal has always been to help the next generation of professional cyclists,” said Axel Merckx, general manager. “I am confident our returning riders will blend well with the promising new riders we have coming on board.”

New additions include Americans Edward Anderson, Christopher Blevins, and Ian Garrison. Brit Chris Lawless also joins, along with under-23 national time trial champion Jhonnatan Narvaez of Ecuador, Portugese twin brothers Ivo Oliveria and Rui Oliveria, and Michael Rice of Australia.

Blevins won the Course de la Paix Juniors (Peace Race), a five-day Nations Cup stage race in the Czech Republic. The Coloradan also rode to fourth at the UCI mountain bike world Championships as a junior. Garrison is another decorated rider from the junior ranks, having claimed a bronze medal at UCI world time trial championships in Qatar. The Georgia resident also won stage 4 at the Tour de l’Abitibi in Canada.

Beyond the riders, Axeon has brought on new sport directors as well: American Jeff Louder and Dutchman Koos Moerenhout. Louder raced professionally for 15 years, and Moerenhout was twice national champion in the Netherlands, in 2007 and 2009.

2017 Axeon Hagens Berman roster

Edward Anderson (USA)
Will Barta (USA)*
Christopher Blevins (USA)
Jonny Brown (USA)*
Adrien Costa (USA)*
Geoffrey Curran (USA)*
Eddie Dunbar (IRE)*
Ian Garrison (USA)
Chris Lawless (GBR)
Jhonnatan Narvaez (ECU)
Ivo Oliveria (POR)
Rui Oliveria (POR)
Logan Owen (USA)*
Neilson Powless (USA)*
Michael Rice (AUS)
Chad Young (USA)*

*Returning rider from 2016