2015 Velo Awards: Boels-Dolmans is Best Women’s Team

Boels riders collected buckets of wins in 2015, and Lizzie Armitstead won the overall World Cup title.

Get access to everything we publish when you join VeloNews or Outside+.

Based on UCI points, Rabo-Liv was the strongest team in 2015, narrowly edging out Boels-Dolmans, 3,120 to 2,929. But based on other factors, such as the number of different riders from each team to win races, and the manner in which they won them, Boels-Dolmans is our choice as the best women’s road team of the year.

Lizzie Armitstead won the World Cup series title for a second consecutive year, on the strength of victories at Trofeo Alfredo Binda, the Philadelphia International Classic, and GP de Plouay. (Armitstead’s world road title wasn’t technically a team victory, though the rainbow jersey will be adorned with “Boels-Dolmans” for the 2016 season.)

Megan Guarnier took wins at Strade Bianche, the Ladies Tour of Norway, and the U.S. national road championship, as well as a stage of the Giro d’Italia Femminile, which she led for six days.

Boels riders Ellen Van Dijk, Chantal Blaak, Evelyn Stevens, Christine Majerus, and Amalie Dideriksen also registered victories throughout the season. As if to underline the depth of its roster, the team also claimed silver in the world team time trial championship in September, finishing six seconds behind Velocio-SRAM (the four-time world champ in that discipline), and 50 seconds ahead of Rabo-Liv in third.