Past Champs Win Iceman

VIDEO: The 2004 and 2007 champ Brian Matter and Amanda Carey, winner of the Iceman in 2008, repeated their feats on Saturday.



Brian Matter and Amanda Carey are the winners of the 2010 Iceman Cometh Challenge in Michigan.

In slushy, muddy conditions Matter was in the lead group of elite men that consisted of last year’s winner Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski, Todd Wells and Jeremiah Bishop. With about 4k to go, Matter — the 2004 and 2007 champ from Wisconsin — attacked.

Hesitation by the group gave Matter, who finished third last year, a 15 second gap that couldn’t be reeled in. He crossed the line in 1:42:16. Wells and Bishop sprinted for second, with Colorado’s Wells nipping Virginian and 2008 winner Bishop 1:42:33 to 1:42:34.

Carey, who won the race in 2008, topped the women’s field in 1:59:11. Sara Kylander-Johnson of Minnesota took second in 2:01:50 and Michigan’s Mackenzie Woodring was third in 2:04:11.

Nearly 4,000 racers took on the 27-mile, point-to-point course that runs from Kalkaska to Traverse City.

Video courtesy