Marian, Milligan win team omniums at collegiate road nationals

With consistent showings throughout the weekend of collegiate racing in Asheville, Marian and Milligan won the overall titles in D1 and D2

Get access to everything we publish when you join VeloNews or Outside+.

ASHEVILLE, North Carolina — Marian University and Milligan College won the divisions I and II team omniums, respectively, on Sunday as the 2015 USA Cycling collegiate road national championships concluded with the team and individual time trials.

Marian riders put their stamp on the final day of competition as both its men’s and women’s teams won the D1 team time trials. In the men’s race against the clock, the Knights clocked a time of 38:38 to win the event ahead of Lindenwood University and Stanford University. In the women’s team event, Marian’s squad posted 45:06.5 to beat out the University of California at San Diego and Stanford University.

In addition to its success in the team time trial, the Marian had other successes over the course of the three-day event, which contributed to its overall team omnium award, such as Joshua Johnson’s criterium win and Laurel Rathbun’s silver medal in the women’s road race.

The individual time trials were also held on Sunday. In the men’s contest, Texas Aggie Grant Koontz proved fastest when he clocked a time of 27:02.59 to earn the gold ahead of Bryan Lewis (University of Virginia) and Ryan Standish (Fort Lewis College). Cecilia Davis Hayes (Columbia University) posted a 30:55.03 in the women’s test to take the win over silver- and bronze-medalists Antonina Hafner (Harvard University) and Katherine Shields (Lees-McRae College).

Connor Brown (Lindenwood University) and Gretchen Stumhofer (University of California-San Diego) won the D1 individual omniums.

In division II, Milligan College had several impressive results during the event that helped earn the team its omnium prize, including Lauretta Hanson’s second-place effort in the women’s road race and Hanson’s and Noah Tankersley’s silver medals in the criterium.

Milligan riders also placed second in the women’s D2 team time trial on Sunday. One step higher on the podium, Colorado Mesa University won the team time trial with a time of 46:15.9, while Whitman College was third. In the men’s D2 team time trial, Furman University posted a time of 40:21.9 to take the win ahead of Colorado School of Mines and Colorado Mesa University.

In the D2 individual TT, Spencer Oswald (Colorado Mesa University) time trialed his way to the win in the men’s contest with a time of 27:09.47 ahead of second- and third-place finishers Brendan Rhim (Furman University) and Chad Young (Colorado School of Mines). Adelaide Tillinghast (American University) was the top time trialist for the women with a time of 32:05.66. Earning the silver and bronze among women were Lauretta Hanson (Milligan College) and Flora Yan (University of Texas at Dallas).

Brendan Rhim (Furman University) and Lauretta Hanson (Milligan College) won the D2 individual omniums.