WorldTour series champ Movistar finalizes 2015 roster

Movistar puts the finishing touches on its 2015 roster, confirming domestique Fran Ventoso for fifth season

After a successful season, the Movistar team has completed its roster, re-signing one final rider, Spanish domestique, Francisco Ventoso, to round out its 2015 team.

Ventoso signed on for his fifth season with the Spanish squad after a year that saw him working for climbing ace Nairo Quintana, who won the 2014 Giro d’Italia, and sprinter Juanjo Lobato.

“It’s been really rewarding for me to see your work appreciated after such a season focused on the squad and my teammates,” said Ventoso. “Less individual results, yet the same effort. I’m really happy with what I did and extremely thankful about this renewal.”

Indeed, the Spanish team has much to be happy about, as the squad took the top team ranking in the WorldTour standings, and veteran leader Alejandro Valverde won the individual WorldTour title. Along with Quintana’s win at the Giro in May, Valverde also stood on the podium at the Vuelta a España, a crucial race for any Spanish rider or team.

The 2015 Movistar team will be composed of 28 riders, with four new signings including, Marc Soler, Rubén Fernández, Winner Anacona, and Rory Sutherland.

2015 Movistar Team roster

Andrey Amador
Winner Anacona
Igor Antón
Eros Capecchi
Jonathan Castroviejo
Alex Dowsett
Imanol Erviti
Rubén Fernández
John Gadret
Jesús Herrada
José Herrada
Beñat Intxausti
Gorka Izagirre
Ion Izagirre
Pablo Lastras
Juanjo Lobato
Adriano Malori
Javi Moreno
Dayer Quintana
Nairo Quintana
José Joaquín Rojas
Enrique Sanz
Marc Soler
Rory Sutherland
Jasha Sütterlin
Alejandro Valverde
Fran Ventoso
Giovanni Visconti