Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In



Page, Compton lead U.S. ’cross worlds team selection

Katie Compton and Jonathan Page lead a U.S. team with some surprises to ’cross worlds

Don't miss a moment from Paris-Roubaix and Unbound Gravel, to the Giro d’Italia, Tour de France, Vuelta a España, and everything in between when you join Outside+.

USA Cycling announced its roster for the 2013 UCI Elite Cyclocross World Championships on Monday. Top automatic qualifiers and national champions Jonathan Page (ENGVT) and Katie Compton (Trek Cyclocross Collective) will lead the 22-person team in Louisville, Kentucky, February 2-3.

Jade Wilcoxson (Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies), second on Sunday at the USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships, was among the four women named as discretionary selections. The USAC selection committee also named Georgia Gould (Luna), Amy Dombroski (Telenet-Fidea), and Meredith Miller (Cal Giant-Specialized) to join Compton and Kaitlin Antonneau ( for the elite women’s race.

Wilcoxson did not apply for discretionary selection, per the USA Cycling selection procedures, but USAC cyclocross and mountain bike program director Marc Gullickson told VeloNews on Monday that federation coaches have the ability to waive that requirement, should an athlete prove their place in a selection.

“Coaches have a card to make coach’s choice, so no problem there,” said Gullickson. “We want the petition for pre-planning, but it’s not a requirement.”

Gullickson said that the women’s roster was the most challenging to nominate, with nationals bronze medalist Nicole Duke (Alchemy Bicycle Company) and Crystal Anthony ( contending for the final slot. Miller, who missed two months with a fractured hand and finished eighth on Sunday, made the selection based on her 11th-place ride at the Namur World Cup.

“(Jade’s) second place at nationals is that piece that pushed it over the top for her. Nationals is important, but it’s hard to take an exact formula for a bunch of different scenarios,” he said, adding that Wilcoxson was not on his radar before Sunday. “That’s the nice thing about nationals: it’s the last chance to make that impression.”

As projected by VeloNews on Monday morning, Jamey Driscoll (Cannondale), third at nationals on Sunday, and Danny Summerhill (UnitedHealthcare) were the committee’s discretionary selections for elite men. They join Page, top-ranked American Jeremy Powers (Rapha-Focus), and Cannondale teammates Ryan Trebon and Tim Johnson, all automatic qualifiers based on World Cup results and UCI points.

Gullickson said that the elite men’s selection was clear-cut after Rapha’s Chris Jones scratched from his nationals race with a thumb injury suffered during course inspection.

Zach McDonald (Rapha), second to Page in Sunday’s elite national championship, was the lone U23 auto qualifier. Joining him will be first-year U23 riders Andrew Dillman (Bob’s Red Mill), Tobin Ortenblad (Cal Giant), and Skyler Trujillo (Boo Bicycles), and Josh Johnson (Bissell-ABG). Yannick Eckmann (Cal Giant), winner of Saturday’s U23 national championship, is not eligible to ride for the U.S. National Team until January 1, 2014, due to UCI regulations surrounding his dual citizenship. He is hoping for selection to the German squad for Louisville.

Joining automatic qualifiers in the junior men’s race Logan Owen (Redline) and Curtis White (Hot Tubes) will be Maxx Chance (Clif Bar Development), David Lombardo (Verdigris-Village CX Team), and Stephen Bassett (Bob’s Red Mill).

Gullickson said that the junior men’s selection was challenging, giving the up-and-down nature of the national team’s results during the domestic qualification races and the Kerstperiode in Belgium, and at nationals. Peter Goguen (C.F. Racing), projected by VeloNews to make the selection, was in line for a nomination, but turned it down, citing fatigue.

“He didn’t send in a petition either; I talked to him and asked if he wanted to reconsider,” said Gullickson. “He said it had been a long season. He’s focused on next road season and said he didn’t think he could keep it going three more weeks. I applaud his honesty.”

According to Gullickson, Bassett’s seventh-place ride at Azencross in Louenhout, Belgium, in December was his ticket to Louisville.

“The guy on bubble with the most impressive performances was Bassett,” he said. “The biggest result for all the junior men other than Owen and White — they’re a different story — was Bassett’s seventh in Louenhout against a field of 75 starters.

“No question there will be some disappointed kids… And it’s tough too because there was a big crash at nationals that took out some guys that could have had a good race. But I can’t count crashes.”

Elite men’s roster:
Jonathan Page, EGNVT
Jeremy Powers, Rapha-Focus
Ryan Trebon,
Tim Johnson,
Jamey Driscoll,
Danny Summerhill, UnitedHealthcare

Elite women’s roster:
Katie Compton, Trek Cyclocross Collective
Kaitlin Antonneau,
Georgia Gould, Luna
Amy Dombroski, Telenet-Fidea
Meredith Miller, Cal Giant-Specialized
Jade Wilcoxson, Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies

U23 men’s roster:
Zach McDonald, Rapha-Focus
Andrew Dillman, Bob’s Red Mill
Tobin Ortenblad, Cal Giant-Specialized
Skyler Trujillo, Boo Bicycles
Josh Johnson, Bissell-ABG

Junior men’s roster:
Logan Owen, Redline
Curtis White, Hot Tubes
Maxx Chance, Cliff Bar Development
David Lombardo, Verdigris-Village CX Team
Stephen Bassett, Bob’s Red Mill