Australia announces deep world championships roster

Simon Gerrans shows his late-season form with a pair of wins in Canada, indicating that he will be a rider to watch at worlds

Australia is sending a deep roster to vie for the world championship title in Ponferrada, Spain later in September.

The Aussies will likely rally around Simon Gerrans, who just came off of a win streak in Canada, claiming the Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec and the Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal. Gerrans may be best-suited for the worlds’ long parcours, having proven his mettle by winning Liège-Bastogne-Liège in 2014. He also won Milano-Sanremo in 2012.

Gerrans’ Orica teammate Michael Matthews, a stage winner at both the Giro d’Italia and the Vuelta a España in 2014 will also be one of the riders to watch.

Australia men’s elite roster:

Simon Clarke (Orica-GreenEDGE)
Rohan Dennis (BMC)
Cadel Evans (BMC)
Simon Gerrans (Orica-GreenEDGE)
Adam Hansen (Lotto-Belisol)
Heinrich Haussler (IAM Cycling)
Matt Hayman (Orica-GreenEDGE)
Michael Matthews (Orica-GreenEDGE)
Rory Sutherland (Tinkoff Bank Saxo-Bank)