Wyman, Van Aert win muddy Superprestige stop at Francorchamps

Helen Wyman and Wout Van Aert notched victories on Sunday in round five of the Superprestige series

Helen Wyman (Kona Factory Racing) and Wout Van Aert (Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace) won the fifth round of the Superprestige series on Sunday.

Wyman took the victory on a muddy, treacherous Francorchamps circuit ahead of Nikki Harris (Telenet-Fidea) and Sanne Van Paassen (Team Bioteaful).

“My start was not so good, but today I was very patient,” said Wyman. “This was such a tough race. Unbelievable.”

After escaping on a steep run-up Van Aert rode alone to his win by more than a minute ahead of Sven Nys (Crelan-AA Drink) and Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb-Napoleon Games).

“I really can’t expect more,” said Van Aert. “I am very happy with this victory. These are the courses that I can handle best.”

The next round of the Superprestige series will be December 27 at Diegem.