Vuelta a Espana

Vuelta a España announces 2017 route

The 2017 Vuelta will start in France with a team time trial and includes a penultimate mountaintop finish on the Angliru.

Get access to everything we publish when you join VeloNews or Outside+.

Race organizer Unipublic announced the 2017 Vuelta a España route on Thursday. The season’s final grand tour will start in Nimes, France, on August 19 and end in Madrid on September 10.

[related title=”More on the Vuelta” align=”right” tag=”Vuelta-a-España]

The 3,298-kilometer race includes five mountaintop finishes, including the fearsome Angliru, which comes on the race’s penultimate day. Racing begins with a team time trial on French soil — only the third time the Vuelta has started abroad. Stage 16 will also be a time trial, a mostly flat, 42-kilometer individual test in Navarra. With five flat stages in the first 14 days of the race, sprinters may be encouraged to stick around before stages 15-17, three mountain stages and the TT, which should be central to the battle for the overall.

“The third week will be even more important,” said Movistar manager Eusebio Unzué, who’s top rider Nairo Quintana won the 2016 Vuelta. “First up, there’s the Los Arcos to Logroño ITT, a special day for us as we will be racing home in the Navarra roads. Then, another two mountaintop finishes, and the always demanding Cantabria hills. And at the end, L’Angliru, a final, hellish chance for those who still want to conquer the race. I feel like it’s a Vuelta route even harder than in previous occasions, and I’m sure it’ll be spectacular.”

2017 Vuelta stages

Stage 1: Nîmes-Nîmes (France), 13.8km team time trial
Stage 2: Nîmes-Gruissan-Grand Narbonne (France), 201km
Stage 3: Prades-Andorra La Vella, 158.5km
Stage 4: Escaldes Engordany-Tarragona, 193km
Stage 5: Benicassim-Alcossebre, 173.4km
Stage 6: Vila-Real-Sagunto, 198km
Stage 7: Lliria-Cuenca, 205.2km
Stage 8: Hellin-Xorret de Cati, 184km
Stage 9: Orihuela-Cumbre del Sol, 176.3km
Rest day
Stage 10: Caravaca-Elpozo Alimentacion, 171km
Stage 11: Lorca-Calar Alto, 188km
Stage 12: Motril-Antequera, 161.4km
Stage 13: Coin-Tomares, 197km
Stage 14: Ecija-Sierra de La Pandera, 185.5km
Stage 15: Alcala La Real-Sierra Nevada, 127km
Rest day
Stage 16: Circuito de Navarra-Logrono, 42km individual time trial
Stage 17: Villadiego-Los Machucos, 180km
Stage 18: Suances-Santo Toribio de Liebana, 168.5km
Stage 19: Caso-Gijon, 153km
Stage 20: Corvera de Asturias-Angliru, 119.2km
Stage 21: Arroyomolinos-Madrid, 101.9km