Vos wins stage 7, continues to dominate Giro Rosa

Race leader Marianne Vos continued her winning streak on stage 7 at the Giro Rosa, ahead of Giorgia Bronzini and Emma Johansson

For the sixth time in eight days of the 2014 Giro Rosa, stage victory went to the Rabobank-Liv team of Marianne Vos.

Vos won again Friday, winning a stage 7 sprint finish ahead of Giorgia Bronzini (Wiggle Honda) and Emma Johansson (Orica AIS).

For Vos, the overall leader and a two-time overall winner of the women’s Giro d’Italia, it was the fourth stage win of this year’s race. Her teammate, Annemiek van Vleuten, won the prologue, as well as stage 3.

Emma Pooley (Lotto-Belisol), the winner of Thursday’s stage, took the QOM points on the first climb of stage 7. She became the new leader of the mountain classification.

There was only one attack during the mountainous stage, which contained a group of seven riders including van Vleuten, Valentina Scandolara (Orica AIS), and Tyler Wiles (Specialized-lululemon). The breakaway was caught by the peloton with 13 kilometers to go, and the Rabobank-Liv riders worked together to support the sprinters bringing Vos to the front.

“Today it has been a very fast stage. In the final straight I managed to break away and win. I’m in good shape and therefore I have good expectations for the last two stages, thanks to my teammates too”, Vos said.

Saturday’s stage 8 will come down to the final climb, a 13km ascent of more than 1,000 meters, with an average gradient of 8 percent. This climb was featured in stage 6 of last year’s Giro Rosa, when American Mara Abbott won the stage solo.

Abbott (UnitedHealthcare), also a two-time overall Giro winner, currently sits sixth overall, 3:08 behind Vos, while compatriot Evelyn Stevens (Specialized-lululemon) sits 15th, 10:28 down.

Stage 7 Results

1. Marianne Vos (Rabobank-Liv)
2. Giorgia Bronzini (Wiggle Honda)
3. Emma Johansson (Orica AIS)

General Classification

1. Marianne Vos (Rabobank-Liv)
2. Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Rabobank-Liv), at 0:54
3. Elisa Longo Borghini (Hitec Products), at 1:03
6. Mara Abbott (UnitedHealthcare), at 3:08
15. Evelyn Stevens (Specialized-lululemon), at 10:28