Van der Poel, Cant win Zilvermeercross

Mathieu Van der Poel and Sanne Cant bounce back from Superprestige losses with wins at Zilvermeercross.

A day after finishing a distant second in the men’s and women’s Superprestige at Spa-Francorchamps, Mathieu Van der Poel (Beobank-Corendon) and Sanne Cant (Enertherm-Beobank) rode back to the top of the podium in their respective categories at Zilvermeercross on Sunday, December 4.

The reigning Dutch national champion, who was fresh off a World Cup victory in Zeven, Germany, was denied his fifth-straight Superprestige win by reigning world champion Wout van Aert (Crelan-Vastgoedservice), who picked up his first Superprestige victory of the season and his first win since Koppenberg on November 1. However, it was the previous world champ with all the answers in Mol, Belgium.

The 21-year-old Van der Poel took a mid-race lead and cruised to a decisive win in a time of 55:30 – 43 seconds ahead of van Aert in second and 58 seconds on Tom Meeusen (Telenet-Fidea Lions) in third.

Top 10

  • 1. Mathieu VAN DER POEL, (NED), 53:30
  • 2. Wout VAN AERT, (BEL), +0:43
  • 3. Tom MEEUSEN, (BEL), +0:58
  • 4. Laurens SWEECK, (BEL), +1:44
  • 5. Philipp WALSLEBEN, (GER), +1:52
  • 6. Corne VAN KESSEL, (NED), +1:56
  • 7. Diether SWEECK, (BEL), +1:58
  • 8. David VAN DER POEL, (NED), s.t.
  • 9. Kevin PAUWELS, (BEL), +2:25
  • 10. Wietse BOSMANS, (BEL), +2:32

In women’s action, Cant once again proved to be the class of the women’s field with a winning time of 40:39. Like Van der Poel, Cant entered the weekend off a win in Zeven, but was derailed from winning her fourth Superprestige round of the season by reigning women’s world champion Thalita de Jong (Rabo-Liv). But just 24 hours later, the 26-year-old Belgian champion made it look easy with a 36-second win over Lucinda Brand (NED) in second. Fellow Belgian Ellen Van Loy ((Young Telenet-Fidea) finished third (+1:07).

Top 10

  • 1. Sanne CANT, (BEL), 40:39
  • 2. Lucinda BRAND, (NED), +0:36
  • 3. Ellen VAN LOY, (BEL), +1:07
  • 4. Los SELS, (BEL), +1:42
  • 5. Yara KASTELIJN, (NED), +2:36
  • 6. Joyce VANDERBEKEN, (BEL), +2:52
  • 7. Karen VERHESTRAETEN, (BEL), +2:56
  • 8. Lindy ANROOIJ, (NED), +3:26
  • 9. Ceylin DEL CARMEN ALVARADO, (NED), +3:40
  • 10. Pauline DELHAYE, (FRA), +4:34