Tour de France 2020

These are records to beat at the Tour de France

Agence France-Presse combs through the record books to find key benchmarks that have stood the test of time at the Grande Boucle.

The 105th edition of the Tour de France is just hours away. Our friends at Agence France-Presse took a moment to comb through the record books to find some key benchmarks that have stood the test of time at the Grande Boucle.

Most wins at a single Tour de France: Eight by Charles Pelissier (1930), Eddy Merckx (1970, 1974), and Freddy Maertens (1976)
Greatest number of stage victories: 34 by Merckx
Greatest number of yellow jersey wearers: Eight in 1958 and 1987
Most days in yellow: 97 by Eddy Merckx
Greatest number of Tour de France wins: Five by Jacques Anquetil, Eddy Merckx, Bernard Hinault, and Miguel Indurain. (Lance Armstrong won seven but was later stripped of them.)
Most top three finishes: Eight by Raymond Poulidor (three second places and five third places) in 14 competitions between 1962-1976
Greatest win margin (since 1947): 28 minutes, 17 seconds by Fausto Coppi in 1952
Smallest win margin: 8 seconds (Greg LeMond over Laurent Fignon in 1989)
Greatest number of green jersey wins: Six by Erik Zabel
Greatest number of polka dot jersey wins: Seven by Richard Virenque
Longest solo break: 253km by Albert Bourlon in 1947
Biggest time gap on a stage win: 22 minutes, 50 seconds by Jose Luis Viejo in 1976
Fastest time-trial average speed: 55.446kph by Rohan Dennis in 2015 over 13.8km
Fastest team time-trial: 57.841kph by Orica in 2013 over 25km
Fastest average speed for a stage win: 50.355kph by Mario Cipollini in 1999 over 194.5 km
Fastest average speed of an entire Tour de France: 41.654kph by Lance Armstrong in 2005, later downgraded
Oldest winner: Firmin Lambot (36 years, four months and nine days) in 1922
Youngest winner: Henri Cornet (19 years, 11 months and 20 days) in 1904
Oldest stage winner: Pino Cerami (41 years, 3 months and 3 days) in 1963
Youngest stage winner: Fabio Battesini (19 years, four months and 13 days) in 1931
Most Tour de France participations: 17 by George Hincapie (between 1996-2012), Stuart O’Grady (1997-2013), Jens Voigt (1998-2014), and Sylvain Chavanel (2001-2017)