Tour de France 2020

Porte, Boasson Hagen to support Froome at the Tour

Sky names its nine-man roster for the Tour de France, which includes Richie Porte, Edvald Boasson Hagen, and Geraint Thomas

Sky announced Chris Froome’s Tour de France supporting cast on Thursday, and it contains, as expected, Richie Porte, Edvald Boasson Hagen and others.

Eight of the nine riders helped Froome win the Critérium du Dauphiné earlier this month.

“I’m delighted with the balance in this team and every one of these riders is going to play a pivotal role once the racing begins,” Froome said in a Sky press release. “Most of us were at the Critérium du Dauphiné and I was hugely impressed there with the way the team came together in control of the leader’s jersey. It gave me huge faith and I could not be happier with the selection.”

Porte will be Froome’s main wingman, as he’s been all season. The Tasmanian won Paris-Nice in February and took second in the Vuelta al Pais Vasco (Tour of the Basque Country) and the Dauphiné.

“In Richie we simply have one of the strongest climbers in the world,” Froome said. “He is another rider who’s more than capable of winning a grand tour in his own right. Having him in our ranks gives us a number of different options to play.”

Another rider who will surround Froome is Geraint Thomas, who wore the white jersey as the best young rider for portions of the 2010 and 2011 Tours.

“Making the final selection of riders has been especially tough this year but we believe that we’ve found the right combination for the Tour de France,” team principal Dave Brailsford said. “We have a group of nine riders that are all in great form and ready for the challenge ahead.

“Around [Froome] are eight quality riders who have each earned their place in the team. They will add the climbing ability and the engines to provide the perfect support for Chris, especially in the crucial mountain stages.”

Bradley Wiggins, who won the 2012 Tour, will not ride in this year’s race after being hampered with a knee injury that forced him to withdraw from the Giro d’Italia in May.

Sky for the 2013 Tour de France

Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR)
Chris Froome (GBR)
Peter Kennaugh (GBR)
Vasil Kiryienka (BLR)
David Lopez (ESP)
Richie Porte (AUS)
Kanstantsin Siutsou (BLR)
Ian Stannard (GBR)
Geraint Thomas (GBR)