Tour de France 2020

Orica-GreenEdge will hunt stage wins in debut at 2012 Tour de France

The first Aussie team to race the Tour will look to Goss, Gerrans, Weening and Albasini for stage victories

PARIS (VN) — Orica-GreenEdge will be hunting stage wins in its debut at the 2012 Tour de France.

“We have a lot of opportunists in the team of nine,” said sports director Matt White.

“Matt Goss is an obvious focus for stage wins. While we have a lot of goals for Gossy in the Tour, his main objective is clear. He is on the hunt for stage wins.”

Supporting Goss in the fast, flat finishes will be Baden Cooke, Brett Lancaster and Daryl Impey, the latter riding his first Tour.

On other stages the squad will look to Simon Gerrans, Pieter Weening and Michael Albasini for stage wins.

Gerrans, the Australian national road champion, took the overall victory at the Tour Down Under and also won Milan-San Remo. He’s also the first Australian to win a stage in all three grand tours.

“He has had a very successful year to date,” said White. “An opportunist with a knack for winning from breaks. We’ll look to Simon on a few key stages.”

Albasini, who will be starting his fourth Tour, has already delivered three stage wins, an overall race victory and a second place at Flèche Wallone this year.

“Michael is having the best season of his 11-year career,” said White. “We’ve seen his aggressive style of racing net him stage wins in Spain and Switzerland and the overall victory at the Volta a Catalunya. Michael will contribute to the goals we’ve set for Matt Goss and take his own chances to win stages on various terrains.”

Road captain will be Stuart O’Grady, who has appeared in every Tour since he made his debut in 1997. He has 13 finishes in 15 starts, two stage wins and nine days in yellow to his name.

“He is without any doubt the most experienced rider on our team,” said White. “Not many riders have more Tour de France racing experience than Stuart.”


Michael Albasini (SUI), Baden Cooke (AUS), Simon Gerrans (AUS), Matt Goss (AUS), Daryl Impey (RSA), Brett Lancaster (AUS), Sebastian Langeveld (NED), Stuart O’Grady (AUS), Pieter Weening (NED)