Tour de France 2020

Omega Pharma chooses Tour team with overall and stage win potential

Lefevre selects balanced roster aimed at stage wins and the overall

PARIS, France (AFP) — Germany’s world time trial champion Tony Martin and American Levi Leipheimer figure in the Omega Pharma-Quick Step team announced Wednesday for the upcoming Tour de France.

Team manager Patrick Lefevre feels upbeat regarding his team prospects. “The team is competitive,” he said. “In the time trials we can count on Levi and Tony Martin, who will be in his element this year with more than 100 kilometers of time trials.

“For the stage wins we’ve got riders of great caliber like Sylvain Chavanel, a natural attacker who has twice been designated most aggressive rider.

“The team is balanced and will be capable of making its presence felt both in the stages and in the general classification.”

The Tour de France begins in the Belgian city of Liège on June 30.

Omega Pharma-Quick Step Tour de France 2012 roster

Sylvain Chavanel (FRA)
Kevin De Weert (BEL)
Dries Devenyns (BEL)
Bert Grabsch (GER)
Levi Leipheimer (USA)
Tony Martin (GER)
Jerome Pineau (FRA)
Stijn Vandenbergh (BEL)
Peter Velits (SVK)