Tour de France 2020

Image of Garmin-Cervélo’s Tour squad becomes clearer

Tom Danielson Julian Dean Tyler Farrar Ryder Hesjedal Thor Hushovd David Millar Johan Vansummeren Christian Vande Velde David Zabriskie

American squad Garmin-Cervélo has not publicly announced its roster for the Tour de France, but the race’s organizer, ASO, appears to have scooped the team by sending out a preliminary start list Monday afternoon.

Though ASO clarified that the final team roster would be issued Thursday, June 30, its list of riders, which included several alternates for each team, appeared to be comprehensive.

ASO lists Garmin-Cervélo’s preliminary TDF squad as Tom Danielson (USA), Julian Dean (New Zealand), Tyler Farrar (USA), Ryder Hesjedal (Canada), Thor Hushovd (Norway), David Millar (Great Britain), Johan Vansummeren (Belgium), Christian Vande Velde (USA) and David Zabriskie (USA).

Alternates listed are Andreas Klier (Germany), Brett Lancaster (Australia), Cameron Meyer (Australia) and Ramunas Navardauskas (Lithuania).

Danielson, 33, is the only rider on the team riding his debut Tour; Dean, Hesjedal, Millar and Vande Velde have all started the race with Garmin every year since 2008.

2011 Tour de Suisse, stage 9: Hesjedal
Ryder Hesjedal in the Tour de Suisse time trial. Photo: Graham Watson

Danielson, who has finished in the top-10 of the Vuleta a España on three occasions, earned his start with a podium finish at the Amgen Tour of California and a top-10 finish at the Tour de Suisse.

Perhaps the most surprising omission was Ireland’s Dan Martin. The 25-year-old climber had hoped to make his Tour debut on the basis of results such as his third overall at the Volta a Catalunya, behind winner Alberto Contador and ahead of Amgen Tour winner Chris Horner. In 2010 Martin won the overall of the Tour of Poland, and on Sunday Martin finished second at the Irish national road championship in a photo finish behind HTC-Highroad’s Matthew Brammeier.

The Garmin team heads to the Tour with four stated goals: winning sprint stages, with both Farrar and Hushovd; chasing the green points jersey; winning the team time trial; and placing both Vande Velde and Hesjedal in the top-10 on general classification.

Vande Velde finished fourth overall in 2008, and Hesjedal finished seventh overall in 2010.