Tour de France 2020

Greipel, Van den Broeck to lead Lotto into the Tour

German sprinter, Belgian GC rider will carry Lotto's hopes in France

PARIS (AFP) — German sprinter André Greipel and Belgian climber Jurgen Van den Broeck will headline Lotto-Belisol’s roster for the 100th Tour de France, the team announced on Thursday.

“Considering that our core is almost identical to that of last year, also our Tour selection doesn’t differ much from previous edition. André Greipel and Jurgen Van den Broeck are still our main leaders. Last year the team has proved it is possible to pursue two goals,” manager Marc Sergeant said, referring to Greipel’s three stage wins and a fourth-place overall finish for Van den Broeck in 2012. “André of course has his train to support him: Greg Henderson, Jürgen Roelandts and Marcel Sieberg. The past few months we worked on the automatisms, with a number of victories as a result, but at the start of the Tour all fast guys begin as equals. The competition is big in the last straight line will be big, but of course our goal is to lead André to a stage win.”

Van den Broeck abandoned the Critérium du Dauphiné earlier in June due to illness, but Sergeant said his GC man had recovered in time to salvage his pre-race hopes for the overall podium.

“Jurgen Van den Broeck only has brought some small changes to his Tour preparation; The Tour de Romandie instead of the Walloon classics, an extra week of rest after the Volta a Catalunya, Vuelta al País Vasco and the Tour de Romandie, but for the rest it was a passionate and meticulous drawn preparation just like the previous years. We know the cause of the two difficult days in the Dauphiné, but I think it was clear immediately that this hasn’t affected his focus and goal. It’s still his ultimate goal to make a bid for the Tour podium, but there aren’t few candidates for a place in top 10. For our country it’s a unique fact to have a rider who can have those kind of ambitions.”

Bart De Clercq and Frederik Willems will support Van den Broeck in the Alps and Pyrénées.

Lotto-Belisol for the 2013 Tour de France:
Lars Bak (DEN)
Bart De Clercq (BEL)
André Greipel (GER)
Adam Hansen (AUS)
Greg Henderson (NZL)
Jurgen Roelandts (BEL)
Marcel Sieberg (GER)
Jurgen Van den Broeck (BEL)
Frederick Willems (BEL)