Tour de France 2020

Garmin makes Tour squad official; taps young Navardauskas for his first Tour

Tom DanielsonJulian DeanTyler FarrarRyder Hesjedal Thor Hushovd David Millar  Ramunas NavardauskasChristian Vande VeldeDavid Zabriskie

Navardauskas leads a break at Kuure-Brussels-Kuurne. Photo: Graham Watson |
Navardauskas (center) leads a break at the 2011 Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne. Photo: Graham Watson |

Garmin-Cervelo on Tuesday  announced its Tour de France squad, which includes one change to the roster released by race organizer ASO Monday: the substitution of Lithuanian national champion Ramunas Navardauskas in place of 2011 Paris-Roubaix winner Johan Van Summeren.

The ASO list was based on a preliminary roster provided by the team, including alternates. That list showed Van Summeren on the squad and Navardauskas among the alternates.

Navardauskas and Tom Danielson are the team’s Tour rookies. Danielson, 33, is finally getting a shot at the Tour after a long career that includes three top-ten finishes at the Vuelta a Espana. By comparison, Navardauskas is in his first year in the WorldTour. The winner of the Espoirs Liege-Bastogne-Liege last year, Navardauskas was second on stage 1 of Tirreno-Adriatico earlier this year.

“We needed a team that could give us options in the overall but also for stage wins and with this squad, we have that,” said Jonathan Vaughters, CEO of team owner Slipstream Sports. “With such a strong team, and so many riders going so well all season, this was our most difficult Tour selection yet. When you have 15 or 18 riders capable of riding the Tour, it becomes difficult, and it’s hard to leave guys like Johan home. But, I’m confident that we have found the right mix in this group, and I have absolute faith in these riders. It’s going to be an exciting Tour.”

Garmin-Cervelo for Tour de France: Tom Danielson (USA), Julian Dean (NZ), Tyler Farrar (USA), Ryder Hesjedal (CAN), Thor Hushovd (NOR), David Millar (GB), Ramunas Navardauskas (LT), Christian Vande Velde (USA), David Zabriskie (USA).