Tour de France 2020

Garmin-Barracuda will ride for Ryder Hesjedal at Tour, hunt stage wins for Tyler Farrar

Arygle Armada will focus on yellow for Hesjedal while hunting stage wins for Farrar

PARIS (AFP) — Giro d’Italia winner Ryder Hesjedal of Canada will spearhead the nine-man Garmin-Barracuda team during the Tour de France, which gets under way June 30 in Liège, Belgium.

“After winning a big tour for the first time we have high hopes for the Tour de France,” Garmin chief Jonathan Vaughters said.

“We will be focusing on the general classification but we’ll also be looking for stage wins for Tyler (Farrar).”

Added competitor director Allan Peiper: “We have put together a well-balanced team with an emphasis on support for our leader, Ryder. We have Christian (Vande Velde) and Tom (Danielson), both excellent climbers who each have had great GC rides in the Tour and have shown their strength in recent racing.

“The climbers will have the support of TT specialists David Millar and David Zabriskie along with Johan Vansummeren, who will also be able to help out sprinters Farrar and (Robbie) Hunter in the quest for stage wins.”

Irish climber Daniel Martin will make his Tour debut. And Belgian Johan Vansummeren, the 2011 Paris-Roubaix winner, has been selected after being overlooked last year.


Tom Danielson (USA)
Tyler Farrar (USA)
Ryder Hesjedal (CAN)
Robbie Hunter (RSA)
Dan Martin (IRL)
David Millar (GBR)
Christian Vande Velde (USA)
Johan Vansummeren (BEL)
David Zabriskie (USA)