Tour de France 2020

Euskaltel hopes to ‘win a stage’ with young squad at Tour de France

Four Tour rookies are on the Spanish team's roster, which will be led by all-arounder Igor Anton

PARIS (AFP) — Euskaltel-Euskadi will line up with four Tour de France rookies when the race starts this weekend, the Basque cycling team said on Tuesday.

France’s Romain Sicard, the 2009 world under 23 champion, begins his first Tour at the age of 25, while Spanish riders Jon Izagirre, Juan Jose Lobato, and Mikel Nieve also start for the first time.

“The aim is to win a stage,” the team said in a statement. “Climbers like Igor Anton and Mikel Nieve have already succeeded on the Giro or the Vuelta but the Tour is different.”

Euskaltel-Euskadi for the Tour de France

Igor Anton (ESP)
Mikel Astarloza (ESP)
Gorka Izagirre (ESP)
Jon Izagirre (ESP)
Juan Jose Lobato (ESP)
Mikel Nieve (ESP)
Juanjo Oroz (ESP)
Ruben Perez (ESP)
Romain Sicard (FRA)