Tour de France 2020

Contador’s winning margin is fourth smallest in Tour de France history

Contador has now won two of the top-four tightest Tours in history

Alberto Contador won his third Tour de France on Sunday following the race’s final stage to Paris with a 39-second advantage over Saxo Bank’s Andy Schleck.

Below is a list of the smallest winning margins in the 107-year history of the Tour de France.

  • 1989: Greg LeMond (USA) beat Laurent Fignon (FRA) by 8 seconds
  • 2007: Alberto Contador (ESP) beat Cadel Evans (AUS) by 23 seconds
  • 1968: Jan Janssen (NED) beat Herman Van Springel (BEL) by 38 seconds
  • 2010: Alberto Contador (ESP) beat Andy Schleck (LUX) by 39 seconds
  • 1987: Stephen Roche (IRL) beat Pedro Delgado (ESP) by 40 seconds
  • 1977: Bernard Thevenet (FRA) beat Hennie Kuiper (NED) by 48 seconds
  • 1964: Jacques Anquetil (FRA) beat Raymond Poulidor (FRA) by 55 seconds

Click here for Complete Video Coverage of 2010 Tour