Sylvain Chavanel, Anna Solovey win 2014 Chrono des Nations ITT

Sylvain Chavanel wins his first Chrono des Nations as Anna Solovey repeats her victory of 2013

Get access to everything we publish when you join VeloNews or Outside+.

LES HERBIERS, France (AFP) — Sylvain Chavanel (IAM Cycling) wrapped up the European road season on Sunday with a victory in the Chrono des Nations individual time trial.

The French national time trial champion covered the 51.5km course in 1:04:18, 53 seconds faster than runner-up Jérémy Roy ( Reidar Borgersen (Team Joker) finished third at 2:03.

Chavanel was the first Frenchman to win the Chrono des Nations since Pascal Lance did so in 1995. He finished third in 2013 and second in 2012.

Tony Martin (Omega Pharma-Quick Step), who won the last three editions of the race, skipped the event this year.

In the women’s race, Anna Solovey (Ukraine National Team) won for the second consecutive year, covering the 20.9km course in 27:37. Astana-Bepink’s Alison Tetrick, racing for the U.S. National Team, took the runner-up spot at 1:25 with Melodie Lesueur (Lointek) third at 1:52.