Morton, Abbott seal Gila GC titles

Jaramillo nabs stage win and Morton wraps up overall title in Gila finale, as Abbott wins both stage and GC in women's race

Lachlan Morton (Jelly Belly) rode into the fifth and final stage of the Tour of the Gila sporting the leader’s jersey, and he held on through the mountainous day to seal the overall title.

Daniel Jaramillo (UnitedHealthcare) and Janier Acevedo (Jamis) powered away from a select group of climbers as the riders neared the finish line to battle it out for the stage win. Jaramillo proved strongest in the finale, nabbing the stage victory, the third Tour of the Gila stage win of his career. Tao Geoghegan Hart of Axeon Hagens Berman nabbed third on the day.

Morton finished in the small group of chasers to take the GC victory. Alex Cataford (Silber) rode to second overall, with Rob Britton (Rally) in third.

Mara Abbott won the stage in the women’s race, adding to her already formidable GC lead to close out the event as the clear overall victor.

Scotti Lechuga (Hagens Berman – Supermint) took second on the stage with Mindy McCutcheon (Canyon – Shimano) nabbing third.