Marianne Vos clinches World Cup as Emma Pooley wins GP de Plouay-Bretagne

Emma Pooley solos to a second consecutive victory in the GP Plouay as Marianne Vos claims her third World Cup crown.

Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit) clinched her third World Cup crown on Saturday as Emma Pooley (Cervélo TestTeam) won her second consecutive GP de Plouay-Bretagne.

The eighth and final round of the World Cup saw Pooley’s teammates Elizabeth Armitstead and Sharon Laws break away early. Then, in midrace, HTC-Columbia’s Judith Arndt went on the offensive, drawing out Pooley, Vos and Emma Johansson (Redsun).

With the peloton some five minutes in arrears, Pooley attacked and went on to win by more than a minute ahead of Vos, with Johansson third.

Evelyn Stevens (HTC-Columbia) was the top American on the day, finishing fifth at 2:35.

Complete results