Marian, MIT tops on first day of collegiate road nationals

Day 1 of the 2013 collegiate road national championships is a wrap and Marian and MIT lead the omnium

Get access to everything we publish when you join VeloNews or Outside+.

Marian University and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology were the big winners on day 1 of the 2013 USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships in Ogden, Utah.

Marian defended its Div. I men’s team time trial title with Jos Chalmers, Stephan Hirsch, Adam Leibovitz, and Weston Luzadder topping the squad from Lindenwood University by 14 seconds over the 33-kilometer course. Fort Lewis College was third, at 37 seconds.

Not to be outdone, Kaitlin Antonneau and Coryn Rivera anchored Marian’s women’s team to the Div. I women’s title. Allie Dragoo and Jacqueline Kurth rounded out the four-rider squad, which bested the University of California-Davis by 1:08. Stanford University was third.

In the Div. II contests, Duke’s quartet of Robert Ferris, Matthew Howe, Michael Mulvihill, and Matthew Rinehart won the men’s race. MIT took the women’s honors with Shaena Berlin, Christina Birch, Katie Quinn, and Katherine Wymbs.

Spencer Oswald (Lees-McRae) and Jessica Prinner (Midwestern State University) won the Div. I individual time trial titles in the afternoon. Oswald bested Dillon Caldwell (University of Oregon) by 1:30. Mitchell Peterson (University of Utah) was third, a furth .09 seconds back. Prinner topped Rosalyn Zylkowski (Washington State University) in the women’s contest by north of 40 seconds. Caroline Moakley (N.C. State) was third.

In Div. II, Michael Burleigh (University of Denver) won the men’s race, and Jasmine Hansen (U.S. Military Academy) is the women’s champion.

After the first of three days of racing, Marian leads Lindenwood University in the Div. I omnium by 49 points. Standford is third, two points further behind. MIT leads the Div. II standings by 21 points over Colorado Mesa University. Whitman College is third, 44 points adrift.

The collegiate national championships continue Saturday in Ogden with the criterium races.