Mancebo, Miller win opening time trial at Joe Martin Stage Race

Series-leading Spaniard opens second round of the NRC with a stage win

Francisco Mancebo won the opening time trial at the Joe Martin Stage Race for the second consecutive year on Thursday. Mancebo (Competitive Cyclist) topped runner-up Sebastian Salas (Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies) by five seconds, with Bissell’s Jeremy Vennell at 6.68 seconds back for third.

Mancebo’s winning time was 13 seconds slower than a year ago.

Amanda Miller (Tibco-To the Top) scored her first win of the season in the women’s race, as the only rider to go under 10 minutes. Kathryn Donovan (FCS-Rouse) finished second, just over a second behind Miller. Colombian Maria Luisa Calle Williams finished third.

Joe Martin is the third stop on the National Racing Calendar in 2012 for men and second for women. Mancebo led the men’s NRC standings coming into the four-day event by nine points over Phil Gaimon (Kenda-Five-hour Energy), who finished seventh, at 11 seconds. It was the first time this season that Gaimon has lost a race-opening uphill time trial.

The Joe Martin Stage Race continues Friday with the rolling, stage 2 road race, which starts and finishes in Fayetteville, Arkansas. The men face 110 miles and the women 64 miles southwest of Fayetteville.

Race Results >>