Giro d'Italia

Giro d’Italia climbs by the numbers

Take a close look at the six mountaintop finishes and other major climbs of the 2016 Giro d'Italia.

MILAN (AFP) — The Giro d’Italia is known for its vertiginous climbs, and though the 2016 route features a few more sprinter-friendly stages than usual, there are still ample cols for the mountain goats. This May’s race offers six mountaintop finishes, three of which are at high altitude (Alpe di Siusi, Risoul, Sant’Anna di Vinadio), with the remaining three in the ‘medium’ mountains of Roccaraso, Sestola, and Andalo.

Below is a list of the race’s mountain stages, although it is worth noting that, unlike the Tour de France, the Giro d’Italia’s rating scale doesn’t top out with ‘hors categorie’ (above category). Instead, the Italian race’s most difficult climbs are rated category one. The highest summit, the Col d’Agnel (2,744 meters), is this year’s Cima Coppi, and accordingly, the winner of that stage will be awarded the Trofeo Torriani.

The climbs, gradients and categories of the Giro d’Italia mountain stages (arrival town in brackets):

Stage 6 (Roccaraso)

Bocca di Selva (1,393m): 18km at 5.6% gradient, category two.
Roccaraso (1,572m): 16.8km at 4.8%, category two.

Stage 7 (Foligno)

Le Svolte di Popoli (746m): 9km at 5.5%, category two.

Stage 8 (Arezzo)

Alpe di Poti (827m): 8.6km at 6.5%, category two

Stage 10 (Sestola)

Pian del Falco (1,352m): 16.3km at 5.2%, category one
Sestola (998 m): 7.4 km at 5%, category three

Stage 13 (Cividale del Friuli)

Montemaggiore (985m): 8.3km at 9.3%, category one
Crai (813m): 8.8km at 6.4%, category two
Cima Porzus (910m): 8.8 km at 8.2%, category one
Valle (682m): 6.2 km at 7.8%, category two

Stage 14 (Corvara)

Passo Pordoi (2,239m): 9.3km at 6.9%, category one
Passo Sella (2,244m): 5.5km at 8%, category two
Passo Gardena (2,121m): 5.8 km at 4.4%, category three
Passo Campolongo (1,875m): 6km at 5.8%, category two
Passo Giau (2,236m): 9.8km at 9.4%, category one
Passo Valparola (2,200m): 11.5km at 6.8%, category two

Stage 15 (Alpe di Siusi)

Alpe di Siusi (1,844m): 9.1km at 8.3%, category one

Stage 16 (Andalo)

Passo della Mendola (1,363m): 14.8km at 6.5%, category two
Fai della Paganella (994m): 10.2km at 7.4%, category two
Andalo (1,024m): 6.1km at 3.2%, category three

Stage 18 (Pinerolo)

Pramartino (925m): 4.7km at 10.5%, category two

Stage 19 (Risoul, France)

Col d’Agnel (2,744m): 21.3km at 6.8%, Cima Coppi
Risoul (1,862m): 12.9km at 6.9%, category one

Stage 20 (Sant’Anna di Vinadio)

Col de Vars (2,108m): 18.2km at 6%, category one
Col de la Bonette (2,715m): 22.2km at 6.7%, category one
Col de la Lombarde (2,350m): 19.8km at 7.5%, category one
Sant’Anna di Vinadio (2,015m): 2.3km at 8.1%, category three