Chodroff, Small clinch Valley of Sun

Jonathan Chodroff and Carmen Small win the 2010 Valley of the Sun Stage Race in Arizona.

Jonathan Chodroff (Jelly Belly-Kenda) defended his Valley of the Sun Stage Race title on Sunday as Cole House (BMC) won the closing criterium in downtown Phoenix.

House took the finale ahead of Luis Amaran (Jamis-Sutter Home) with Eric Marcotte (Team Pista Palace) third. Race leader Chodroff finished 41st in the same time to lock up the overall by 37 seconds over Amaran and 1:10 over third-placed Andrew Talansky (California Giant-Specialized).

In women’s racing, Carmen Small (Colavita-Baci-Cooking Light) had a tougher go of it, entering the finale with just a two-second cushion over second-placed Molly Van Houweling (Metromint Cycling).

But Small delivered — she finished fourth behind crit winner Nicky Wangsgard (Roosters-Edge Composite) to clinch the overall. Van Houweling held onto second place with Catherine Dickson (Allsport GPS) third at 1:02.